An apple (or three) a day…

November 13, 2008 at 2:55 pm 8 comments

Oh goodness I had the craziest morning ever! 😯 I feel like I had (and have) about a million things going on, but I forced myself to take a few minutes off for myself because I wanted to relax and enjoy my lunch.  Last night I threw a cinnamon stick and some chopped Gala apples in my crockpot on low.  Definitely shouldn’t have cooked it for the 8+ hours that it was in there, but it still tasted fantabulous so oh well… just more of a baked taste than you normally get in apple sauce.  I was going to use my immersion blender, but after all those hours they were so tender I decided against it.  I left the peels on for added fiber and because I didn’t mind eating the tiny pieces of skin mixed in.img_18251

They might look icky, but that’s just from all the cinnamon!  I took a generous cup of the baked apples and put it in the bottom of a tupperware and then put a plain Chobani yogurt overtop and a big hunk of real honeycomb to top it off!  I. Love. Honeycomb.  This was seriously so yummy and the perfect thing to lighten my spirits on such a wet and dreary day.img_18241

I also brought in some chopped carrots for dipping into an empty baby food jar filled with TJ’s crunchy salted peanut butter.  Does anyone else do that?  I always get baby food so that I can save the glass jars to carry peanut butter, honey or hummus for dipping cut fruits and veggies into.  They’re the perfect size and leak-proof!img_18271

I rounded out my meal with… another apple!  I wasn’t thinking when I packed this this morning, but hey.. an apple a day, right? 😉  img_18261

While I ate I caught up on some of my personal emails and saw one froma friend inviting me to the next meeting of her book club!  I love to read so I’m really excited about this… the book is called Post American World by NY Times bestseller author Fareed Zakaria.  I’ve never read it so I’m excited… especially since I just finished The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory, the author of The other Boleyn Girl.  Ok, I maaay also be reading another book (Zen and the Art of Morotcycle Maintenance), but I’m kinda a bookworm, so it’s normal for me to be reading 2-3 books at once. 😆 Did you guys ever watch the TV show Gilmore Girls?  The main character, Rory, is pretty much obsessed with all things literary and that was my favorite show for that very reason.  I got lots of great book recommendations from that show!  Now how many people can honestly say that TV caused them to read more??

Entry filed under: Lunch, Recipes. Tags: .

Hungry like the wolf! Into the Woods!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sagan  |  November 13, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Philippa Gregory is a great author! I was SO disappointed with the movie of The Other Boleyn Girl though- I need to stop seeing movie adaptations of my favourite books hehe.

    And Rory? Cutest character ever.

    Heart the apples and cinnamon:)

  • […] I love to read so I’m really excited about this… the book is called Post American World by NY Times bestseller author Fareed Zakaria . I’ve never read it so I’m excited… especially since I just finished The Other Queen by Philippa …[Continue Reading] […]

  • 3. VeggieGirl  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    GILMORE GIRLS!!! Guilty pleasure 😀

  • 4. Brooke  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    What a great idea putting the apples in the crockpot – I will def be trying that!

    I ❤ Gilmore girls! I want to name my future daughter Aurora just so I can call her Rory! 🙂

  • 5. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    i love that tj’s pb!!
    i’ve never seen gilmore girls… :/

  • 6. Maggie  |  November 14, 2008 at 1:34 am

    I tend to have, like… at least 4 apples every day. No worries! They look awesome. That honeycomb sounds soooo good.

  • 7. catms916  |  November 14, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Sagan Ug, I have the same problem with movies ruining great books I’ve read…

    Brooke Do try! Just don’t leave them in there for as long as I did… oops!

    Yay to the Gilmore Girl love!! 😀

  • 8. ttfn300  |  November 17, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    aw gilmore girls… funny, i started watching after a guy i dated was into it–LOL. homemade applesauce!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

