Yo quiero tacos!

November 12, 2008 at 9:11 pm 11 comments

Oh yum… I think tacos may be one of the most perfect foods on the planet – I love stuffing them with all of the ingredients that I love most of all. Of course the only problem is that I usually put wayyy too much stuff into the taco so that I can barely close it and it breaks and goes all over the place. Oh well… in the shell or out of the shell it still tastes awesome.img_18161

My mix today was kind of weird because it turned out that the bell peppers I had sitting in my fridge for the past couple of days had gone bad so I had to throw them all out. Boo to that! 😑 Then I realized that I also didn’t have any fresh or canned diced tomatoes. Improvising time… The base was a sliced onion sauteed with finely diced Italian zucchini from my parents’ garden along with red pepper flakes, garlic, cayenne pepper and Tabasco sauce. Then I added some Newman’s Own pasta sauce for some tomatoey-ness. In order to get the pasta sauce taste out I threw in alot of hot sauce. My brother and I have the biggest collection of hot sauces known to man so I can’t quite recount everything that I threw in… πŸ˜‰ img_18171

I also diced some firm silken tofu and marinated it in cayenne pepper, tabasco, liquid smoke and garlic powder. I threw those into my blue corn tortilla along with some shredded lettuce, Mexican-blend reduced fat cheese, and plain Chobani yogurt (instead of sour cream). img_181811 Of course, about 45 minutes later I was hungry again since it was such a long day so I made a big bowl of popcorn. πŸ˜› img_17931

Weekend Highlights

I didn’t forget that I said I would post some of the highlights from my weekend home. I’m not going to bore you with every little thing I ate, so I’ll just put in the extra yummy stuff…

img_17591First off was my dinner Friday night – a big plate of brown rice pasta with homemade pesto. Basil from our garden, fresh minced garlic, walnuts, salt, olive oil, and fresh grated Parmesan cheese!!img_17641img_17681This was Saturday morning breakfast… very yummy. I added in alot of milk and cottage cheese for extra creaminess. It totally reminded me of grits, but took forever to cook. Oh well, it was a nice change at least.. πŸ™‚ img_17621My mom got this enormous tub of dates at Costco… how awesome is that!! It took serious will power not to eat them all at once! πŸ˜‰ img_17691Drumroll please…. this is my absolute favorite dinner in the world… Swiss Chard Pie!!!img_17721Does that not just look like heaven??? My mom has been making this for as long as I can remember… I’m obsessed! Thanks for a yummy dinner mom!! πŸ˜€ img_17731Here’s the recipe:

Swiss Chard Pie:

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour (I used Gluten-Free all purpose)
  • 1/3 c. olive oil (I used slightly less)
  • 1/3 c. water (plus more as needed)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 8 large swiss chard leaves (or fresh spinach)
  • 4 oz. feta cheese
  • 1 c. cottage cheese
  • 2 scallion stalks
  • 1/4 c. fresh dill
  • 2 eggs (may use 3 if using alot of Swiss Chard)
  1. In a food processor blend together the flour, oil, salt, baking powder and water. Add more water until you reach a consistency slightly thicker than pancake batter.
  2. Pour batter into an oiled 8×8 glass or pyrex baking pan (glass & pyrex brown the crust best)
  3. In a food processor blend together the chard, feta, cottage cheese, scallions, dill and eggs until pureed.
  4. Pour pureed greens & cheese mixture overtop of the wet crust batter. The two will be heavy enough to stay separate.
  5. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40-50 minutes, depending on how quickly your crust browns. Enjoy!
Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Recipes.

Escape from the cubical… Hungry like the wolf!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Β‘OlΓ©! πŸ˜€

  • 2. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:19 am

    the swiss chard pie looks so good! thanks for posting the recipe!!!
    oooo I LOVE taco night!
    have a great day πŸ˜€

  • 3. catms916  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Gina You too – I hope you try making it!

  • 4. ttfn300  |  November 13, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    that swiss chard pie looks fantastic, i’ll defiantely have to give it a go πŸ™‚

  • 5. runjess  |  November 13, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I always overstuff my tacos as well. That swiss chard pie looks unique and really cool. Remind me to make it sometime.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 6. Erin  |  December 3, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I am officially obsessed with this pie. I won’t be able to stop thinking about it until I make it! πŸ™‚

  • 7. E: DONE DEALIN’ FALL 2008! « Care to Eat  |  December 5, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    […] Catherine at Steva ‘n Spice shared this recipe for Swiss Chard Pie on her blog last month and made it again recently and it totes caught my eye. […]

  • 8. Moran  |  December 8, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Hi Catherine! Do you think I could make the recipe crust-less? meaning just the spinach and the other ingredients?

  • 9. catms916  |  December 8, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Moran Definitely! I would maybe up the egg amount to 3 (or add another egg white) to ensure it stays together. The consistency should be like a really thick pancake batter so adjust as needed. I would either try making it like a frittata by cooking in a cast iron pan on the stove and then transferring to the oven, or just do the whole thing in the oven – check with a toothpick in the middle like you would a brownie – when it comes out clean it’s ready to go!

  • […] was planning on doing Catherine’s Swiss Chard Pie this weekend but I won’t have the time because I have some more things to do around here […]

  • 11. Almost 2009! « Ourkitchenadventures’s Weblog  |  December 30, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    […] inspired by my bloggie-buds. I made the infamous Gliding Calm tofu along with Catherine’s Spinach Pie. Both were […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

