Something’s fishy…

November 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm 10 comments

I totally couldn’t wait for my lunchy today… it will probably seem super gross to most of you, but I’m secretly in love with sardines.  I can’t help it!  I know they might look frightening, very oily and smell a bit fishy, but they’re so so good!  I think I inherited the sardines gene from my mom – she’s addicted to the little guys!  img_18011

I paired my sardines with a small salad with Dijon mustard as the dressing and an apple that I will img_18021be saving for later this afternoon.  Don’t be fooled by the small can size of the sardines, they seriously fill you up for hours!  Disclaimer:  have gum on hand after eating sardines and put the empty can into a ziploc before throwing into the trash under your desk.  Otherwise your co-workers might not be as excited about your lunch as you are. 😉
img_180311Yum…  I don’t know why I am so addicted the Dijon mustard, but I totally am!  Hey, question for you guys… What’s your favorite Thanksgiving side dish?  I am trying to come up with something new and yummy for this Thanksgiving (in addition of course to the standard mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry chutney and stuffing).  I was thinking of some kind of squash or tomato soup… I don’t know though – thoughts??  Hope the rest of your day goes by quickly everyone!

Entry filed under: Lunch.

Leftovers & lovely surprises!!! It’s Puffin season!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Haha, I used to eat sardines when I was younger 😀

    **Favorite Thanksgiving side dish = homemade cranberry sauce!!!!

  • 2. Sagan  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Oooh, have some kind of roasted squash!

    My favourite side dish is mashed potatoes. I’m so boring at Thanksgiving; I only ever eat lots of turkey and mashed potatoes and some homemade buns and then whatever veggies are there. I don’t like gravy or stuffing and that stuff. But SUCH good meals!

  • 3. Maggie  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I haven’t had sardines in ages, but I used to love them.

    Favorite dish – sweet potato puree. Heaven.

  • 4. Erica  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I wish I liked sardines! They are pretty healthy for you! A guy in my office use to eat them almost every day! Good for you 🙂

  • 5. Megan  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    My favorite Thanksgiving dish is the sweet potato casserole!

    For the pumpkin biscuits, I actually used Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking mix…you can look up the ingredients on the website, or I can let you know the ingredients when I get home!

  • 6. Amy  |  November 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    thanks for visiting/commenting on my blog, im glad i found yours! very cute & ill definitely be back to read more 😀
    i love sweet potato side dishes for thanksgiving, or any time of year, really !

  • 7. HangryPants  |  November 11, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    The deliciously buttery and fatty butternut squash my mom makes! Yummmm.

    Sardines … not so yum!

  • 8. bobbi  |  November 12, 2008 at 12:55 am

    I have never had sardines so I can’t smash them, I ll have to try sometime.

  • 9. catms916  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Meghan Thanks for getting back to me! No need to look it up, I have to stop by the natural food store this evening so I’ll check it out then… I might experiment by creating my own mix – or cave and just buy it 😉

    Thanks for the suggestions guys… I was leaning towards a squash dish, but now it’s decided! Now on to dreaming up the perfect recipe… 🙂

  • 10. Erica  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I love the puffins and haven’t tried this kind! Thanks for the review! I may have to get some this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

