Morning musings

November 7, 2008 at 10:45 am 10 comments

Another damp and dreary day here in the city… I really have no complaints though because it’s about 60 degrees out!  I went for a run in the park decked out in full winter underarmour gear and needless to say I was sweating before I even hit mile 1.  It’s seriously so nice in the park in the mornings though, I really have to take some pictures for you guys pretty soon.  It’s a huge wonderland of red, yellow and orange trees lining the prettiest ponds and flower gardens.  Honestly I think it’s my favorite part of living in Manhattan.  Yeah, the bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. is awesome, but the thing that I enjoy most is being outdoors and the park is my own little sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of it all.  It reminds me of my home back in Connecticut and is just really comforting.

When I came home the roommate was in the kitchen again.  He has changed his morning schedule and is there the whole timeI am trying to get ready in the morning now.  Grrrr  I guess I’ll just have to reclaim my territory on Monday and start making stovetop oats again.  😈      img_17531

I ended up just going with a Vanilla Chobani yogurt and a big bag of Cinnamon Puffins again.  Boring I know…  Plus a heaping spoonful of ZAP peanut butter of course!!  😀   untitled

When I was running this morning I started thinking about how happy I am about where my life is right now. 🙂  Work might be crazy sometimes, having roommates can sometimes be hard, but you know what?  That stuff doesn’t even matter.  I have a great boyfriend, family, friends, good health, lots of energy and my whole life ahead of me!  I think running is really an essential component of my happiness too… it helps me clear my min, get rid of stress and focus on what’s really important.  I like listening to music sometimes when I run, but I really miss out of the soothing effect of running when I do that.  Is anyone else like that?  Do you prefer to run with an ipod/music, or do you prefer to tranquility of your thoughts??

Entry filed under: breakfast.

Rest at last Pizza, Pizza!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wholesome Foodie  |  November 7, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I love running without music, because I run by the river and a) it’s fun to watch the other people, and b) I love listening to my feet hit the ground and my own breath and the sound of the leaves on the trees rustling below my feet.
    basically, lol.
    I <333333 puffins! yum

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I CAN’T run without my iPod – just not possible. The music sets a good beat 🙂

    Have fun at home, girl!!! Hope the sun starts shining too, where you are!!

  • 3. seeleelive  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:25 am

    i am happy to hear you are happy. 🙂

    i prefer listening to music always. it is hard for me to even work out if i do not have my iPod!!!

  • 4. Lindsey  |  November 7, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Running helps clear my head too. Like yesterday – for some reason I was incredibly frustrated and unfocused, but I went running, upped my intensity, and (without music) just left to my thoughts, I was able to clear my a\head and come back for a much better relaxing night.

    Sometimes I like music if I’m feeling easily distracted (is that weird?) but lately more often than not I love just being outdoors in the silence with my own thoughts.

  • 5. Sagan  |  November 7, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Exercising is great for that- getting us to appreciate all of the great things we have in life!

    I usually prefer exercising without music, just because earphones ALWAYS fall out for me and it drives me crazy. Sometimes music can be nice, but often it’s just so peaceful and relaxing to just listen to the sounds that are around me and to think my own thoughts. Exercising is good “me” time.

  • 6. Erica  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Glad you are having a great day so far 🙂 Celebrate your wonderful life! I like to run with my ipod!

  • 7. Lara  |  November 8, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I need my iPod to run or it’s all over! I always try to “zone out,” when I run but it is still quite a challange for me so I have to focus a lot more than most people.
    It’s always nice to have a moment when you realize how good life is. Thanks for the reminder!

  • 8. Hangry Pants  |  November 8, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Your runs sound so enjoyable! Right now, I need music. I would stop if not distracted.

  • 9. Maggie  |  November 8, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I’ve been running without my iPod recently, but sometimes I do use it. When I used to have a gym membership I HAD to listen to the iPod because otherwise I found it really boring.

  • 10. Catherine  |  November 9, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Maggie Totally agreed – in the gym on a treadmill I NEED music because running is so monotonous, but outside I just prefer to take in my surrounding and zone out to my own thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

