Rest at last

November 6, 2008 at 10:37 pm 6 comments

Finally some much needed R&R… you know when it seems like time is inching along and flying by at theimg_17431 same time? Like you have barely enough time to get everything done, and yet it seems like you’ve been working forever? Today was definitely one of those days. I finally got a chance to have one of my Nature Valley Bars I keep stashed in my desk at about 5pm. By the time I got home though I had zero desire to cook. While I pondered over dinner I snack on some roasted peanuts.

I was in the mood for some serious comfort food too, but didn’t want to wait so I nuked a sweet dumpling squash (cut into halves), and then threw it in the oven for a few minutes to finish cooking while I ran downstairs to do my laundry. I had some brown rice & cooked kidney beans stored in the freezer so I decided to make some spicy rice & beans to stuff into the squash. Topped with extra Mexican-blend cheese of course… šŸ™‚ img_17471

On the side I toasted the squash seeds after tossing them in some olive oil, cayenne pepper, chili powderimg_17491 and salt. I also had a yummy can of sardines. Yes, I just called squash and sardines comfort food… Seriously though, when I was little my mom would always eat sardines on toast with me and toasting squash/pumpkin seeds has always been big in our family so to me those are total comfort foods.

I know this sounds like such a weird dinner, but for me it was incredibly satisfying. It totally satisfied a craving and was a nice cheap dinner since I already had all of the supplies! I have to say though, the sweet dumpling squash was really nothing special. It was stringier than acorn or carnival squash and the taste really wasn’t anything to write home about. A bit bland if anything. I think in the future I’ll stick to acorn, carnival or butternut.img_17451Yummmm… check out those spicy squash seeds!! I saved some of these for a snack tomorrow, so you may see a reappearance pretty soon.Ā  After dinner I caught up on some of the shows I had dvr’d and made a big batch of popcorn which I ended up not being able to finish so I gave to the brother.Ā  I guess I had a little too much fiber with dinner between the squash, rice, beans and squash seeds. šŸ˜³ Ā  img_17511I’m off to catch up on some reading and pack my stuff for tomorrow – I’m going home for the weekend to see the ‘rents and some friends who live back home in CT.Ā  šŸ˜›

Entry filed under: Dinner.

No time! Morning musings

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  November 6, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I know EXACTLY the feeling! Have safe travel this weekend and I hope you get some relaxing in!!

  • 2. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    ive never had sardines! my husband loves them, but they freak me out a little!
    enjoy your evening!

  • 3. VeggieGirl  |  November 7, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Enjoy the R&R, girl!! And enjoy your time at home this weekend šŸ™‚

  • 4. catms916  |  November 7, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Gina Haha they are a little creepy looking because they are whole in the can, fins and all (no head), but I acquired a taste for them when I was little and now I love them!

  • 5. Sagan  |  November 7, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Have you tried roasting the seeds for acorn squash? Do you have a recipe that you use (oven temperature/length of time for cooking/spices you put on them)? I’d love to try it!

  • 6. catms916  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Sagan I ALWAYS roast my acorn, butternut, and carnival squash seeds!

    For plain seeds (which I prefer) I clean the stringy squash guts off the seeds with a little water as best I can and then I pour a tsp or two of olive oil (any type of oil will do) into a bowl with the seeds and toss to coat. Then I spread them out on a cookie sheet or piece of tinfoil, sprinkle them generously with salt and pop them into a 425 degree oven for about 10 minutes. If they’re cooking unevenly you just have to stir them around a little. You can sometimes hear them popping in the oven!

    If you want to add spices, some chili powder & cayenne pepper is fun to add, or if you have a sweet tooth, Peanut Butter Boy has a post on some cinnamon-sugar pumpkin seeds. Just note that squash seeds cook much quicker than pumpkin seeds because they’re smaller. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

