The votes are in!!

November 5, 2008 at 10:34 am 5 comments

Can you guys believe it??  Our first African-American president ever!!  Whether you voted for Obama or not, I must say you have to at least see that as a sign of how far Americans have come.  My parents still remember segregated bathrooms, etc. when they were growing up; I bet they never thought that in their lifetime they would ever see an African-American man become president.  Simply Amazing.

I do not want to talk politics though, because that is not the point of this blog.  However, in the spirit of vote-counting, I have come to a decision on the winner of the ZAP contest!  The bf and I discussed the entries last night and we both feel that #35 Lindsey of Life According to Mrs LC is the winner!!  Lindsey, please send me your full name and mailing address to: cmsaur16@gmail.com

Lindsey wrote: 

What motivates me to stay healthy on a daily basis is being able to have that positive energy all throughout the day that I can only have when I’m at my healthy best. I love the feeling of being perfectly content with who you are and proud of yourself when you reach health and fitness goals, and you know you’re living right. My family, friends, and my new husband motivate me to stay healthy too. I want to have a good, healthy, balanced life to share with them. )
Speaking of my husband…I feel I have to win for him! We’ve just been married 3 months and the one thing that disturbs marital bliss is peanut butter! Ok that’s a lie, but hubs LOVES peanut butter like nobody’s business, and it is SO HARD to get him to try, let alone like anything besides sugar-laden Jiff peanut butter! Winning this peanut butter could benefit the health of our marriage!

While I received tons of fantastic answers, I thought Lindsey should be the winner specifically because of the part she wrote about her husband.  It hit home with me because when I first met the bf over 5 years ago he was eating hot dogs and tater tots and thought it was normal to feel sick and lethargic after lunch.  It makes me so happy that he made the decision to change his eating habits and has enjoyed so many of the benefits: more energy, fewer illnesses, etc.

ZAP peanut butter is the perfect peanut butter for someone who is currently stuck on Jiff (especially bc it’s sweet too!).  As I said in my official review of the product, with all the added fruits and vegetables it is the perfect thing for someone with a less than perfect diet.  Email me so that I can send out your prize Lindsey!!

On to breakfast… I woke up a little late this morning, but still decided to get in some ab work and weight lifting.  I did about 10 minutes on the ET to warm up, hit the weights and called it a day.  It was just the thing to get me going though.  There was a little commotion this morning because Peekay knocked over our garbage can (again). 😡 In his defense it smelled like rotting fish – gross!!  The cleanup put me a little behind schedule so I only had time for a quick bfast:img_17281Blueberry Chobani, Cinnamon Puffins cereal, banana… does it get any better than that??  I ended up saving the banana for later once I got into the office because my 2+ mugs of tea filled me up after all that yogurt and cereal.  😳 img_17291

Product Review: Cinnamon Puffins by Barbara’s Bakery

This was the first time I’ve tried the cinnamon version of this cereal… I normally get the peanut butter.  I was a little disappointed to find that the cereal wasn’t as cinnamony as I expected it to be, but then again I ate this dry.  I have a feeling a generous splash of milk would unlock the spices and make for some tasty flavored milk.  I did like how hearty this cereal was though!  Each puffed square has real substance… this cereal will not turn to mush in milk in a matter of seconds!  I had 2 cups of the stuff and was very satisfied afterwards.  This is a fantastic wheat-free, dairy free, vegan cereal that is rich in fiber and low in fat.  I give this a strong 4 out of 5 stars.  I prefer the peanut butter flavor, but this was a delicious change and I would definitely purchase it again!  See y’all for lunch!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Products.

Voting=frustration School days…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 5, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Congratulations to Lindsey!!! She DEFINITELY had a worthy entry!!

    Yeah, I always preferred the PB Puffins over the other varieties as well.

    Happy Wednesday!! 🙂

  • 2. Erica  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    PB puffins are the best! They should be illegal they’re so yummy!Congrats Linds! What a fun contest!

  • 3. Lindsey  |  November 5, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    YAY!! Thank you so much! 🙂 When I got your email I texted my husband right away, so excited!! He’s gotten a lot healthier with me as I’ve been learning more about nutrition, but peanut butter is the ONE thing that he just has not been able to “sacrifice” on. Thank you again, haha I feel like I just won the lotto (I don’t usually win things…). 🙂 🙂 🙂

  • 4. Sagan  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Yum, cereal:)

  • 5. runjess  |  November 6, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    That’s a good answer. Nice job, Lindsey!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

