I yam what I yam!

November 4, 2008 at 1:54 pm 4 comments

Lunch today might look boring, but trust me, it was so yummy & satisfying.  I made myself a huge baked sweet potato last night.  Ok, ok, it’s technically a yam, but everyone calls these guys sweet potatoes for some reason.  Really, sweet potatoes are lighter in color and yellow on the inside.  They’re also not as sweet as yams and have a starchier taste.  Check Whole Foods if ya don’t believe me!img_17151

I warmed this up in the office microwave and had it sprinkled with salt.  Mmm, mmm good!img_17161

I also brought in the rest of the salad I had in the fridge from the sushi I ordered on Sunday (they gave me a ton!).  It was iceberg, which I don’t normally have because it has barely any nutritional value, but I wasn’t going to waste it!  It came with tomatoes and cucumbers and I added a large stalk of celery.  I ate it with the ginger-carrot dressing they gave me… so good.

Hey have you guys ever used MapMyRun.com??  I registered for a free account this morning so I could see how far I ran (4.3 miles!) and it is so cool!!  You can map your route with “hybrid view” which lets you see a satellite image of where you were and labels streets as well.  So cool!  Totally trumps the mapping feature on active.com!

img_17171

Thanksgiving Challenge Update:

After ordering out on Sunday I was down to $80 (from $100).  Last night I went shopping for a few things…

  • bananas (x4)                                –   $1.00
  • yam (x1)                                       –   $0.97
  • spelt english muffins (package)   –   $3.79
  • canned pumpkin & canned black beans  – $4.08

The total amount I have left to spend is:  $70.16   I can do this, I swear!!!  😕

Entry filed under: Lunch.

Election Day! Voting=frustration

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 4, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I’m a sweet potato gal myself – no yams 😛

    Good luck with the challenge!!!! 😀

  • 2. Erica  |  November 4, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I love tihs idea of trying to save money- so cool! I need to try to spend less!! Yams/sweet potatos are my favorite thing to have for lunch! Filling, delicious, CHEAP!

  • 3. Sagan  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    You can do it! Yam looks tasty:)

  • 4. wholefoodswholeme  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    whatever you call it, it’s yummy stuff 😀 yours looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

