Brinner Part II

November 3, 2008 at 8:49 pm 10 comments

Oh my gosh, you cannot understand how amazing my dinner was! I tried Peanut Butter Boy’s Pumpkin Pie Pancakes… with a few modifications… and it was simply amazing. Here is my recipe with modifications:

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes: by Peanut Butter Boy

  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 c. plain yogurt (Chobani)
  • 1/4 c. egg whites
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 banana (reserve 1/2)
  • 2 tsp vanilla rice milk
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp candied ginger, diced

Pumpkin-Spice Topping:

  • 2 oz. canned pumpkin
  • 2 tsp raw honey
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp vanilla rice milk

This is sooo good! I think I’ve been craving pancakes since last winter. Plus now that I’m supposed to be avoiding wheat, this was the perfect wheat-free (and gluten-free) breakfast… or should I say brinner. The method according to PB Boy:

  1. To make batter blend oats, yogurt, pumpkin, egg whites, 1/2 banana, rice milk, cinnamon and ginger in a food processor until smooth. Add more rice milk if necessary. I used Chobani, which is very thick, so if you use a thinner yogurt you’ll need less milk. To make topping mix together all of the ingredients. Microwave for a few seconds just before you’re ready to eat.
  2. Heat a skillet over med-high heat. Once warm, spray the pan with cooking spray. Place a few spoonfuls of the batter and spread out with the back of a spoon to thin. Place 3 slices of the other half of the banana in each pancake and cook for about 1-2 minutes. Once the top starts to set, flip and cook for another 1-2 minutes.
  3. If necessary, keep the pancakes warm while you cook another batch in an oven on warm on aluminum foil. Spread toppings over pancakes & enjoy!!

Check out those caramelized ‘naners!!

Storing: The batter will keep in the fridge for 7-10 days. When you remove it from the fridge, it will be much thicker due to the temp and oat absorption. Add milk, 1 tbsp at a time, until you reach the desired consistency.

Since I ate sooo early last night (6:30 is super early for me), I had a big bowl of popcorn popped on the stove again!!  😛    

img_17031

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner. Tags: .

Leftovers, heavenly leftovers Election Day!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Okay, so, can I come over for Brinner???? 😀

  • 2. Erica  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    mm I made pumpkin pie pancakes last week and they were awesome! pumpkin + pancakes= heaven! I promise to send your prize asap! I have to go on travel so I might not get it out until Thursday!

  • 3. Wholesome Foodie  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    That looks heavenly!!

  • 4. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    those look incredible! that pb boy is quite the culinary genius.. good to know the batter will stay good for so long- i need to try these!!

  • 5. bobbi  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    guess I know what I will be making for bfast!!! YUMMERS!

  • 6. Hangry Pants  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Wow it looks amazin!

  • 7. Kristie  |  November 4, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Yum yum yum those look soooo delicious. I’ll definitely have to remember to give them a try. I love their colour! And that topping… drooool.

  • 8. catms916  |  November 4, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Erica No worries!!

    Gina The way they taste, I guarantee the batter won’t actually stay in the fridge that long! 😉

  • 9. wholefoodswholeme  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:23 am

    w.o.w. i am so hungry for these!!

  • 10. runjess  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Wow those pancakes look SO GOOD!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

