Thurs Night & Fri Morning…

October 31, 2008 at 9:52 am 2 comments

Sorry for the double post… i just wasn’t feeling blogging last night.  Which also means that picture won’t be posted until this afternoon since I am at work and without my camera cord.  It was a looong day yesterday and I was pooped by the end.  Dinner was pretty simple stuff, but still good.  Sometimes I just can’t handle cooking anything elaborate during the week.  It seems like by the time I get home and changed out of my work clothes I just want to sit no the couch sometimes and have dinner brought to me.  Of course that never happens though so I should quit dreaming unless I want to spend $20 for a delivery man to come ring my doorbell with food. 😕

Dinner was chili rubbed chicken breasts (pictured pre-baking).  I used bone-in chicken breast because I think they come out soo much juicer than boneless.  Boneless can often be too dry for my tastes… not the ideal chicken to bake with, that’s for sure!  I rubbed the chicken with chili powder, olive oil, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper; making sure to get it allll over.  I left the skin on to ensure that it didn’t dry out, but I lifted it up so that the spices were nestled underneath.  I don’t actually eat the skin (gross), so I didn’t want to waste all that flavor on something that was just going to be tossed.  In order to make sure everything cooked evenly and all the way through I cut 4 slits in each breast through the thickest parts all the way to the bone.  This won’t dry out the chicken if you make sure to cook it on a low heat, but it will prevent that annoying pinkness inside.

I could hardly wait for everything to cook so I snacked on some tortilla chips and Utz salt & vinegar potato chips while everything cooked.  There wasn’t much left in the Utz bag so I just finished it off… shhh it wasn’t mine. 😉  

On the side I blanched some fresh chopped broccoli and frozen cauliflower in a big pot of water that was seasoned with a large, smashed garlic clove and a tsp or two of salt.  When that was done I simply drained, tossed with some olive oil, Parmesan, salt and pepper and it was done.  Easy!  I also had some brown rice that had been cooked earlier in the week to round everything out.  All in all a very quick and easy dinner. 

I was definitely in the mood for a cocktail last night so I combined a splash of vodka, some pellegrino and a splash of Izze’s sparkling pomegranate juice.  So good I went back for seconds after dinner while we watched The Office!  Poor Michael Scott….  The bf was feeling a bit under the weather 😦  so I was solo in my cocktail drinking.  I hope he’s feeling better for Halloween!!  I also munched on a few more small handfuls of tortilla chips with my drink…  🙂

Halloween Morning!!

This morning I woke up to my special Halloween alarm (theme from The Nightmare Before Christmas), but for some reason I wasn’t feeling so chipper.  I normally looove Halloween.  I love the pumpkin carving, costume wearing, candy eating fun factor, so this was very out of character for me.  I stumbled into the kitchen and could not decide what to eat.  I hate eating when I’m grumpy… I never  enjoy anything that I put in my mouth.  I had some plain yogurt… didn’t satisfy me, a handful of Peanut Butter Bumpers… wasn’t feelin cereal, a big spoonful of my homemade Peanut Butter

It’s hard to not be satisfied by peanut butter so I went back for another spoonful.  When I got in the office I wasn’t exactly hungry, but I still wanted to snack on something – preferably something sweet.  I didn’t want to start my day off too unhealthy though so I dug into my purse and got the Balance Gold Bar I had stashed in there.  It was the Chocolate Mint Cookie Crunch flavor.  Pretty good as far as Balance Bars go…  Definitely not natural tasting, but considering the fact that I wanted to just get a pack of M&M’s out of the vending machine, I’m really happy I went that route instead.

Looking back I know my dissatisfaction with all my breakfast eats was due to my emotions.  I try to pay attention to my body when I eat and listen to how hungry I am, but I’m human and sometimes when I’m upset I eat to try to make myself feel better.  Pretty backwards because that usually just leads to not feeling well.  In this case I definitely didn’t overdo it by any means.  I feel totally fine, but I would prefer to clear my mind and enjoy my food instead of mindlessly eating.

Hopefully the rest of my Halloween turns out OK.  ‘Til then I’m just gonna “fake it ’til I make it”.  I know if I put on a happy face, things will come together.  😉

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner.

Recycled meals ZAP contest alert!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Ahh, hang in there, girl!! PLEASE have a happy Halloween!!! 🙂

  • 2. Girl on Top  |  October 31, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I eat sometimes to make myself feel better too. Hope you feel better. Just remember all your blessings!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

