Recycled meals

October 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm 4 comments

For some reason I was absolutely starving today at like 11:30, but I tried to hold off as long as I could.  Unfortunately that was only until 12. 🙂 Oh well.  I normally like to eat a little later so that it breaks up my day better and I have fewer hours between lunch and when I get to go home, but somtimes things just don’t work out that way.  Today was definitely leftover day!  I brought a nice big tupperwear with some of my leftover Carnival Squash from yesterday…  I couldn’t quite finish the whole thing because of all the extra nibbles from the brother’s Grocery bounty.  😳   I’m so glad I didn’t though because this was so  so good heated up for part of my lunch!!  You guys should really try Carnival Squash if you haven’t already.  It looks exactly like acorn squash, but splashed with tons of colors! I would say the flavor of the squash is similar to acron squash, but has more of the mealy texture (in a good way) of a sweet potato or baked potato.  It’s flavor has hints of honey and almost a nuttiness to it that I can’t quite put my finger on.  I guess I’ll have to buy a few more to figure it out. 😉 I actually googled this kind of squash this morning because I was a little curious to see if it’d be listed as an acorn hybrid or something because of the identical shape and found this great website.  This site gives so much valuable information on the different varieties of squash, when to look for them, how to store them, prepare them, etc.  Such a good resource!!

I also brought the rest of my Chicken Broth and Veggie soup in my thermos.  The picture isn’t that great, but there’s a better picture of the original product in this post:  Chicken Soup for the Soul.  It was just as good and comforting as I remembered! 😆 Oh and an apple (of course), that I forgot to snap a picture of.

I also had a Nature Valley bar and an apricot fruit leather this afternoon.  What can I say, I’m a hungry mungry!! 😛     

Entry filed under: Lunch.

The Keys to Happiness Thurs Night & Fri Morning…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bobbi  |  October 30, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    I haven’t really given squash a try, I need to! Yummy:)

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Mmm, squash!! Thanks for the informative link as well.

  • 3. Erica  |  October 30, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    I eat lunch at 11 am every day! I just can’t wait any longer than that! I am hearting butternut squash. I need to bring some in for lunch!

  • 4. catms916  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Squash is probably my new favorite aspect of fall…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

