Carnival time!!

October 29, 2008 at 9:10 pm 7 comments

I met my little this afternoon!!!  She’s in 10th grade in a vocational high school in NYC and is super adorable!  Since today was the first day we met all of our little and had ice breaking activities for 2 hours.  I was actually a little nervous at first because I wasn’t sure what she would be like, if she would like me… etc.  So happy with my match though – I think we will definitely get along!!  For her own privacy reasons I don’t want to post too much about her, but I will definitely tell you about the program as a whole.  We have our next meeting in 2 weeks and I believe we will be doing exercises to teach them about business ethics.  Basically the program is supposed to get the kids ready for applying to college, etc.  Their school actually mandates that they do real internships in hospitals, offices, etc.  So cool – internships/work was not even on my radar in high school.

I got out a bit late because I had some work to finish after the program was done, so I was really hungry when I got home.  It was literally torture waiting for everything to cook since I was making baked tofu and squash which take soooo long!!  I filled my Carnival squash with a new twist on rice pudding… I even snuck in the BSI!  Thanks for posting such a great one Itzy!

Pear-Spiced Rice Puddin’:

  • 1/2 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1 small pear (not sure what kind)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla rice milk
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • pinch salt

After roasting the squash for 40 minutes in the oven, I put the filling in the squash and broiled for an extra 5 minutes.  I mixed in some of the squash with the rice pudding to spread out the sweetness and it was so so good!  Carnival squash is a little sweeter than acorn squash… or at least mine tasted sweeter. 

I just made a few pieces of bakes tofu with a simple rub of olive oil, vinegar and teriyaki sauce.  I used my homemade BBQ sauce to dip the pieces in.  Finished everything off with a salad of the last of my green leaf lettuce and a big stalk of celery. 

The brother came home with goodies from the store, so even though I was kind of full I sampled some of his yummy Green Mountain tortilla strips and Green Mountain salsa – definitely my favorite brand of salsa x1,000 .  Plus a Mother’s cheddar rice cake.   😀   Totally stuffed!!!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

Uninspired. Much ado about pears!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gina (fitnessista)  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    what a unique recipe!! it looks delicious!!!
    enjoy your night!

  • 2. seeleelive  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I am so happy your little went well. My interview is in mid-november..in the meantime I am working at GESU in central Philly. It’s going well so far…but i can’t wait for a steady little to work with myself 😉

  • 3. bobbi  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:41 am

    very cool about your little! Love the BSI:)!

  • 4. VeggieGirl  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Aww, so fabulous about you and your little!! Keep having fun!! 🙂

    Your rice pudding/squash dish is BRILLIANT!! Love it.

    GREEN MOUNTAIN SALSA IS THE BEST!! I use the spicy Roasted Garlic flavor 🙂

  • 5. catms916  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:03 am

    seeleelive Good luck in your interview!

    Veggie Girl I’ve never tried that flavor, but it sounds delicious! I loooove garlic.

  • 6. caitlin  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:36 am

    yayyyy! for pear oatmeal!

    and youre right… our happiness is all up to US!

  • 7. runjess  |  October 30, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Wow your BSI recipe looks great! I’m making mine for a company potluck, but it’s not going to be very exciting.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

