Old & New

October 28, 2008 at 9:53 pm 5 comments

Dinner tonight was a mix of some of my favorite dishes growing up along with a new favorite dish. I started off by bringing a pot of red kidney beans to a boil (forgot to soak these overnight — oops!) Since I knew the beans were going to take quite a while, I took my time creating a marinade for my tofu as well as some extra for dipping the finished product in.

BBQ tofu marinade:

  • 2 tbsp teriyaki sauce
  • 4 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tsp Texas Pete hot sauce
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • dash garlic powder
  • dash black pepper

I baked the tofu for about 15 minutes on one side and 20 minutes on the other at 450. Maybe I did something wrong though because I totally burned the bottom of the pan which is currently soaking in my sink. 😦 Am I not supposed to leave the marinade mixture in the bottom of the pan when I bake it? And how do you get a crunchy/crisp exterior of the tofu – marinate it longer? add vinegar??

Anyway, on the side I had a big bowl of Spicy Rice & Beans. My mom used to make this alll the time when I was little and I love it! I used the cooked red kidney beans and some of my pre-cooked brown rice.

Spicy Rice & Beans:

  • 5 oz cooked brown rice
  • 2 oz cooked red kidney beans (from dried)
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat Mexican cheese mix (mozzarella & cheddar)
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • dash Texas Pete hot sauce
  • 1/8 tsp salt (plus more to taste)

Just heat up the rice and beans, stir in the cheese and spices and enjoy!! I like hot foods – can you tell?? 😛

I also had the last of my pureed butternut squash with some salt sprinkled on top, and some spicy baked squash seeds. I enjoyed everything while catching up on last night’s Heroes and Gossip Girl with the brother… the latter of which has gotten really cheesy recently.

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes.

I feel a rumbly in my tumbly! Chobani = love

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lee (seelivelee)  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    omigosh- i had tofu tonight too. Honestly stevia ‘n’ spice…what’s with us!?! pistachios-now this!?! wow, well it looks so good. i really want to try BBQ tofu!! yummmmm! good eats tonight and sleep well!!

  • 2. Hangry Pants  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I love beans and rice – all kinds!

  • 3. VeggieGirl  |  October 29, 2008 at 7:56 am

    SPICY beans & rice?!?!??!! Yes, please!!

  • 4. catms916  |  October 29, 2008 at 9:07 am

    seeleelive: Too funny… I think we may be taste-bud twins!

    Rice and beans are always better with a little heat! 😉

  • 5. runjess  |  October 29, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    That meal looks so yummy! I looovvve Gossip Girl, and it’s waiting for me on my DVR. Sometimes you just have to embrace the cheesiness.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

