Chicken Soup for the Soul

October 27, 2008 at 9:58 pm 2 comments

By the end of the day I was so incredibly worn out and annoyed… perfect day to curl up with a hot bowl of soup! I didn’t have any chicken on the bone to make a broth with, but I had a few cans of College Inn chicken broth and picked up some veggies to round out the broth.

Chicken broth w/ veggies:

  • 4.7 oz chopped carrots
  • 5.7 oz chopped celery
  • 2 oz yellow onion, cut into wedges
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans 99% fat free College Inn chicken broth
  • 1 garlic clove, lightly smashed
  • dash lemon-pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • dash dried thyme

Basically I just threw everything into the pot, brought it to a boil and then reduced the heat to medium and let it cook until the vegetables were tender. Then I poured about half of it into a bowl with 3 oz cooked brown rice. For only 207 calories per serving (3 oz rice per serving), this was incredibly filling and delicious!

I paired the soup with some of the pureed butternut squash that I had reserved in the freezer with some salt & cinnamon. Heated it up for a few minutes and it was just the thing! After dinner I was still looking for something to nibble on so I had a few plain, salted rice cakes and one more of my Walnut Blondies… Yummy!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

Odd pairing What to wear??

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 28, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Soup + blondies = Comforting!!! 🙂

  • 2. catms916  |  October 28, 2008 at 9:07 am

    The only thing that was missing was the sound of rain on the roof… but I guess I got that this morning!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

