Lazy morning

October 25, 2008 at 11:51 am 5 comments

I love the weekends… especially when I have no plans that I need to wake up for. Lazy fall Saturdays are the best. I started off my morning right with some decaf Irish breakfast tea and the last of my pre-made banana oats. In honor of the beautiful fall day I made my Spiced Apple Oats.

  • 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 medium banana, finely sliced
  • vanilla rice milk for rehydration
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • dash ginger
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped gala apples; microwaved 2 minutes
  • spoonful ZAP natural PB on the side

I follow Kath’s method for preparing my oats… I pour the milk, oats and water into a saucepan over medium heat. Add the spices and vanilla to to pan. Slice a banana into VERY thin pieces, leaving just a few bigger chunks. As the oatmeal heats, stir vigorously at times to “whip” the banana into the oats. I stir in about 1/4 cup of the cooked apples and reserve the other half for pouring on top of the cooked oats. The oats will take 5-7 minutes on medium heat to fully absorb the liquid. They’re done when they reach your desired consistency!

We’re off to go walk though Central Park and enjoy the day. Cheers!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fri night recap Weekend Recap + Recipes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 25, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Spiced Apple Oats + a walk through Central Park = PERFECT SATURDAY!!! Enjoy 🙂

  • 2. seeleelive  |  October 25, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    I love weekends SO MUCH. and the breakfasts on the weeks, so slow and relaxed; not rushed at all: are the best. have a wonderful day in NYC i am so jealous!

  • 3. Bobbi  |  October 25, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    walk through central park sounds so nice, I love NY! I love saturday mornings that you can just lay around, I haven’t had one of those in a while..lol…ENJOY IT!

  • 4. runjess  |  October 26, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    I finally had time to make oats this morning because I wasn’t rushing around, but I craved cereal instead!
    Super jealous of your walk through Central Park. I got to run there once and it was fabulous.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 5. catms916  |  October 27, 2008 at 10:12 am

    runjess: Haha, I hate when that happens! You should try pre-making your oats and keeing them in the fridge – totally cuts time. Ahh runs in the park are one of my favorite things!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

