Spiced Apple Oats (and ZAP review)

October 24, 2008 at 9:27 am 6 comments

For breakfast this morning after a short run and some bicep & tricep work, I decided to use up some of the Banana Oats that I had prepared earlier this week.  Man does that save time and cut down on cleaning pots in the morning.  It doesn’t taste quiteas delicious as freshly made oats, but it still beats instant any day! Yuck… hate that stuff. 

I threw in about 1/3 cup of the stewed, chopped gala apples that I had sitting in the fridge, and then I added an extra sprinkling of ginger powder to top it off (and milk of course to bring it back to life).  I had a spoonful of ZAP peanut butter to go along with it… plus another small spoonful halfway through.  I have to say, after giving it a second thought, ZAP isn’t as bad as I made it out to be, but it simply doesn’t taste like peanut butter.

 I tried the stuff again last night smeared on a rice cake with a drizzle of honey and it was quite delicious.  It works well with the sweet tangy flavor of the honey because of it’s own unique flavor.  Ok here’s my official product review of the ZAP peanut butter:

Product Review – ZAP creamy natural peanut butter:

I gave this product 3 out of 5 stars, and here is my reasoning…  While the ZAP butter doesn’t tastequite like normal peanut butter, it still has a good peanutty flavor, with a sweetness that reminds me of Valencia peanuts.  The main complaint I have is that I found it to have an odd after taste – not unpleasant, just unexpected.  I did not like the PB on a sandwich, but I did like it when it’s flavor was the main component of the dish (a la my rice cake and honey).  I also thought that it worked pretty well with my Banana Oats, but I missed the usual saltiness that provides a contrast to the mild sweetness of the banana.  Additionally this product offers great nutritional benefits.  Boasting 1,100 antioxidants per serving due to the blend of 10 different fruits and veggies added, this would be a really good idea to sneak into childen’s pb&j sandwiches, etc.  But don’t take my word for it… try it yourself HERE!

I’ll finish my post with a picture of the breakfast guest that I had while I was finishing my oats.  He was talking to me here quite loudly to let me know that he wanted some attention.  His name is Peekay (named after the main character in my favorite book The Power of One) and the picture is blurry because he is rarely sitting still.  Such a cutie though!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Products. Tags: , .

Total snob. Happy Hour(s)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 24, 2008 at 9:58 am

    LOOOOVE your oatmeal variety!! And yes, DEFINITELY better than instant oats (ick!!) 😉

    Sounds like the PB is worthy after all! I’ll check out the site. Thanks for the review!!

    Peekay is a gorgeous boy!! 🙂

    Happy Friday!!

  • 2. catms916  |  October 24, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Thanks!! I would say that the PB is worthy checking out. I was torn about it mainly because while some people have a sweet tooth, I have a SALT tooth. So mainly I was just missing my uber salty PB…

    Haha he’s quite the trouble maker though.

  • 3. runjess  |  October 24, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Love cats! The boyfriend is allergic though 😦
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 4. catms916  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    runjess: Aw, that’s too bad. I actually grew up with dogs and always considered myself a dog person, but the bf got this little guy for my bday last year and he just melts my heart.

  • 5. Sagan  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Peekay is adorable!

    I’ve never even heard of ZAP but I’m intrigued. I’m a PB2 fan, myself:)

  • 6. seeleelive  |  October 24, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Peanut Butter=awesome

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

