Total snob.

October 23, 2008 at 10:26 pm 5 comments

So tonight I decided to see what all the fuss was about over Snobby Joe’s. I seem to see them on everyone’s blogs! Now I know why!! I modified the recipe slightly to this (hehe kind of looks like a face):

Modified Snobby Joe’s:

  • 1/4 c lentils (simmered and then drained)
  • 1/4 red bell pepper; minced finely
  • 2 garlic cloves; minced
  • 1/2 small onion; diced
  • 1 c. Newman’s Own tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp mustard; Grey Poupon Dijon
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried mustard
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp Habanero XXX hot sauce
  • 1/2 tsp BBQ sauce
  • salt & pepper to taste

I added the diced onions, as instructed, to the lentils as they cooked to soften them (maybe 20-30 minutes), and then pretty much threw everything else in a pan for abnother 10-20 minutes. I ate it on a Rudi’s Organic Spelt roll w/ lettuce, Parmesan cheese, red pepper and ketchup. Yum!! **I only had half the recipe and froze the other half

Along with my Snobby Joe’s I had a salad with diced carrots and oil + vinegar. Then after dinner I made Veggie Girl’s GF Walnut Blondies. I didn’t have an 8×8 pan on hand, but I just used a pie plate. It actually worked out very well!! Well done Veggie Girl… they were awesome!!

Good night all!! Stay tuned for an extra yummy crock pot classic tomorrow!! 😀

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: .

Jury’s out! Spiced Apple Oats (and ZAP review)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 24, 2008 at 7:59 am

    HELL YES FOR SNOBBY JOES, AND FOR MAKING THE BLONDIES!!! Girl, you just made my day 😀

  • 2. catms916  |  October 24, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Um no – you made my day. The Joe’s and the Blondies were out of this world!!

  • 3. Allison k  |  October 24, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Cute face on that plate!

  • 4. runjess  |  October 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I have yet to successfully cook lentils, so maybe I should try this recipe.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 5. catms916  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    runjess: I would DEFINITELY recommend this recipe (or one of the many variations out there of it). It’s from Veganomicon originally… and it absolutely delightful. I should probably note that I simmered my lentils longer than the recipe capped for – maybe closer to 30 minutes instead of the recommended 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

