An apple a day…

October 21, 2008 at 12:44 pm 6 comments

Lunch today was a mix of everything I had leftover in the fridge:  The rest of my green leaf lettuce, baby carrots, lentils, brown rice and the scrapings from the Dijon mustard bottle.  I am obsessed with Dijon mustard on salads recently… it’s so so good!  Plus it doesn’t leak all over my bag like my normal red wine vinegar dressing tends to do. 

I wanted an apple with my lunch, but I thought the apples they were selling in the Au Bon Pain downstairs were a little pricey ($1 for an apple??), so I ran across the street to Gristedes.  What did I find??  A 5 lb bag of little gala apples for $3.99. :mrgreen: There must be about 15-20 little guys in there… what a deal!  They might be smaller than my regular honey crisps… and maybe not as yummy, but I am not one to turn my nose up at an apple!  I’ll probably have one or two more of these this afternoon.  Sorry for the lack of pictures… I was in a rush this morning and didn’t get a chance to upload the pics.

Entry filed under: Lunch.

Good grief Charlie Brown! A rainbow dinner!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 21, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Hooray for a great apple deal!! Oh man, I love honeycrisp apples – they ARE better than galas, haha 😉

  • 2. Kristie  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Hey Catherine, thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m liking the looks of yours already, I’ll definitely be reading more often.

    On a post related note, I LOVE dijon. I put it on all kinds of stuff. And I mix it into nearly every salad I eat. It’s by far one of my favourite condiments.

  • 3. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Score! Getting a good deal always makes my day :o)

  • 4. catms916  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    VeggieGirl: Agreed… unfortunately they are not as cheap :/

    Kristie: Thanks!! Haha, I thought I was the only one! I used it one day in my tuna and I’ve been addicted ever since!

  • 5. rhodeygirltests  |  October 21, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    mmm apples are so yummy right now!

  • 6. Sagan  |  October 21, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    LOVE apples.

    They are so wonderful and delicious. I got very excited when I found Spartans for 99 cents/pound the other day! Unfortunately ate them all within about a day and when I went back today they were up to $1.67 or something. Sighs. But have to keep stocked up:)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

