Make mine a decaf!

October 17, 2008 at 9:39 am 1 comment

Last night I was pretty wiped, so I crawled into bed around 10 o’clock.  The only problem was I couldn’t actually fall asleep, regardless of how tired I felt!  I lay awake tossing and turning for what feltlike all nigh, although judging by how awake I felt at 6:30am it probably wasn’t alll night.  I thought it was my pillows at first, because my back and neck started hurting and I couldn’t seem to find a comfortable position, yet then I realized that I had been sleeping on those same pillows for the past two weeks and never had any problems before… well except for one or two days I guess.  Then this morning it hit me – caffeine!!  😈 Yesterday and probably the days that I didn’t sleep well, I had tons and tons of caffeine!  Now I’m not a coffee drinker, so I’m not used to it at all and yet still had cup after cup of caffeinated English Breakfast tea, and even a latte!

I did a little research this morning and apparently studies have shown that even caffeine consumed in the morning can have adverse effects on sleep: increasing the number of time you wake up in the night, preventing you from falling asleep, and interfering with deep sleep.  Sounds like my night!  Also, one article I read from the Mayo Clinic said that people can have different caffeine sensitivity levels.  This sensitivity depends on factors such as (taken from the Mayo Clinic article):

  • Body mass: people with smaller body masses feel the effects of caffeine sooner than those with bigger masses
  • History of use: People who don’t regularly consume caffeine tend to be more susceptible to its negative  effects
  • Stress: All types of stress (heat, mental physical) can increase sensitivity

Well, seeing as I’m tiny and am not a coffee drinker I think it’s best I try to steer clear of caffeine!  I’m switching to decaf English Breakfast tea this morning and all during the upcoming week and see if I notice a different in my sleep quality!

After a greatworkout this morning – 2.4 miles on the treadmill, lots of crunches, 15 reps bicep curl (10 lbs), 10 reps bicep curl (12.5 lbs), 15 reps tricep extensions (15 lbs), 15 reps tricep kickbacks (12.5 lbs), 10 reps tricep kickbacks (12.5 lbs)… I made some PB&J Oats!!  Did you notice I actually learned the names of some arm exercises to do?? 😛 

My PB&J Oats consisted of the following:

  • 1 small banana, sliced very thin
  • 1/3 c. oats, 1/3 c. water, 1/3 c. skim milk
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

Toppings:  dollop of plain yogurt mixed with strawberry jam and topped with a roasted peanut.  Plus a spoonful of Trader Joe’s crunchy salted PB.  YUMMM!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , .

Brinner! The lunch that bit back.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  October 17, 2008 at 11:49 am

    “Body mass: people with smaller body masses feel the effects of caffeine sooner than those with bigger masses”

    Ooooh yes, I can definitely attest to that, which is why I don’t consume caffeine. I don’t need it; I don’t miss it.

    PBJ Oats??? DIVINE!!!

    Enjoy your day!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

