A living, breathing alarm clock.

October 16, 2008 at 10:34 am 2 comments

Oh man… today opened up with a bit of a rough start for me!  I was woken up by the little kitten at 6:30, meowing to let me know that my alarm had just gone off.  I didn’t go to bed at the greatest time though last night so I decided to sleep in (no gym for me this morning) – only problem was Peekay did not want to sleep in.  The meowing continued until I had to get up and put him in his crate, where he finally calmed down and went back to sleep.  When I finally did wake up at 7:15 I didn’t feel any more refreshed than I had at 6:30.  I guess I may as well have just gotten up in the first place!  For breakfast I just grabbed the easiest thing – a container of plain yogurt mixed with Hemp protein powder that I had put in the fridge last week.  Not as fun as oatmeal, but I needed to eat and get outta the door fast!

Once I got into work I had two massive cups of English Breakfast tea with 2% milk and Stevia.  I also pulled out some grapes that I had tucked away in the office freezer.

Today I packed a fantastic lunch, but it looks like it might have to hang out in the fridge until tomorrow… I just got invited to a lunch with some underwriters at City Hall New York in Tribeca.  I was peeking at the menu and there are so many yummy choices!!  I’m only sad that I don’t have my camera so I can’t take any pictures for you guys.  Oh well…

Thought I’d leave you with a little brain food (since my breakfast leaves much to be desired today).

This Day in History:

  • 1758: Noah Webster (publisher of the American Dictionary of the English Language) was born in Hartford, CT
  • 2003: NY Yankees beat Boston to claim the title of as American League Champs (unfortunately they did not win the World Series though)

Ahh sorry…  work got in the way!  One of my colleagues were nice enough to pick me up a skim latte from Starbucks though (unfortunately they heavily sugared it, so I’m not going to finish it – oh well, the thought that counts).

Entry filed under: breakfast.

Now that’s what I call fast food! Lunching in style

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lee  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    So, what is hemp anyways? Have you tried Hemp milk?

  • 2. catms916  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Hemp is the non-drug cousin of the Cannabis plant (that people smoke). It contains essential amino acids and essential fatty acids. These can also be found in fish, walnuts, flax, etc. The seeds can be made into milk – much like soy milk.

    It is loaded with protein and is a good alternative to milk for those with dairy sensitivities or soy because of the controvery surrounding soy and the hormonal effects it can have on you. I can’t quite describe the taste (I usually get vanilla or chocolate hemp milk), but I think it’s quite nutty and delicious tasting.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

