Baby got back!

October 15, 2008 at 9:37 am 5 comments

Haha I couldn’t resist… I saw on KERF that it is National Love Your Body Day. What do you love when you look in the mirror? I love my butt! I’m sick of so many women saying that they hate hate hate their butts. You can’t even see it without a mirror – I would think that would be the one part of us that we would be most indifferent about. I made a pact with myself last year that I would stop picking apart my body and start appreciating every inch of it. Do you really want to wait until you’re 70 to realize that you should have loved and appreciated your body when you were young and able to run, jump and swim without the aches and pains of old age? No! Don’t read magazines and compare yourself to those girls… chances are they have been photo shopped anyway! Haven’t you read the Jezebel.com article on the Faith HillRebook magazine cover?? Totally airbrushed/ photoshopped!! And that’s a women who’s job it is to stay in shape and look attractive (and yes, sing).

Anyway… this morning I was having technical difficulties loading the pictures of my scrumptious Banana Oatymeal. 👿 Oh well, I’ll have to figure it out when I get home from work… **update – cooking pics finally worked!! I had a GREAT workout this morning! I started off with some light lifting:

  • 15 reps bicep curls (7.5 lbs), 15 reps bicep curls (10 lbs), 10 reps bicep curls (12.5 lbs)
  • 15 reps overhead tricep raises (10 lbs)
  • 15 reps backwards extension tricep exercises (10 lbs)

Then one of the treadmills freed up so I did 25 minutes at a slight incline (about 2.5 miles). Perfect way to jump-start my day! By the way – the picture at the top of the post is by one of the National Organization for Women 2008 Poster Contest Winners – Shanti Rittgers of Connecticut. Had to give a shout out to a fellow Connecticut girl!

I almost forgot… I took a baggie of Mother’s PB Bumpers cereal with me to work for a snack when I got to my desk. Yummist cereal ever!!! And wheat-free 🙂

Entry filed under: breakfast. Tags: , .

Wine makes for confusing travel… Welcome friends! :)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenngirl  |  October 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Hey! I just found your blog today, and wanted to say hello! I read your “about me” and I think that’s wonderful that you’ve grown up in a health-focused family 🙂

    Great post today about loving your body, we should all celebrate this day!! Glad you made a deal with yourself to not pick your body apart, something we should all strive for!

    Have a great day! 🙂

  • 2. catms916  |  October 15, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Thanks Jenny! I think loving who you are is sooo important – it’s so silly how easy it is to get it in our heads that we always need to be “fixing” ourselves. I always try to fill my head with positive thoughts about myself – it’s crazy how much it improves your overall outlook and mood!

  • 3. glidingcalm  |  October 15, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Hey Catherine! Neat blog….as for getting your blog out there (answering the Q you left on my blog)…it’s definitely something that just takes time! Visiting other blogs and allowing people to get to know you is what helps I guess? I’ve had mine for almost a year, but it’s taken a lot of time to build readers!! That PB cereal looks awesome, but I’ve never tried it!! I love the PB Panda puffs and the PB Puffins though, so maybe I’ll give the Bumpers a go!

    happy Wednesday!

  • 4. VeggieGirl  |  October 15, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Love your blog title and content!! I’m glad that I stumbled upon your site 🙂

    Those peanut butter bumpers sound delish – they’re wheat-free, but are they gluten-free??? I hope so, because then I could maybe try them, haha.

    Happy Love Your Body Day!!

  • 5. catms916  |  October 15, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Thanks!! Not 100% sure if they’re gluten free as well… here’s the website though for more info: http://www.mothersnatural.com/index.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

