Tapas night!!

October 11, 2008 at 10:37 pm Leave a comment

Yayy I was able to get my run in after work Friday!!  I did about 5 miles total (took a break in the middle because I had to stop in and feed my kitten) and it felt great.  I had never stopped and started running like that and I must say, it really makes it seem like you actually did less miles than you really did.  Sort of tricks your body… 

So Friday night we decided to do something I haven’t done in a while…. tapas night!  I love tapas because it allows you to get a ton of different flavors so that you don’t have to fill up on only one flavor at time.  We decided on a few different dishes:  Spicy thai-BBQ chicken bites, homemade hummus, cut veggies, sweet potato rounds, baked tofu and some generous glasses of Pinot Grigio 🙂 .  I love tapas night.

I was trying to get down all the cooking times so that everything would be ready at the same time – I definitely need a little work on that, but it’s sloooowly coming together.  Unfortunately I burned the baked tofu a little, but I still ate it.  The bf kind of avoided it though… oh well.  I just did a little wheat-free tamari sauce, honey, salt and pepper on the tofu – at 400 degrees for about 35-40 minutes.

The chicken was cooked at 400 for about 10-15 minutes after soaking in a marinade made of Tabasco sauce, BBG sauce and “Thai Kitchen” red Thai chili sauce.  I stuck these on toothpicks for dipping into BBQ sauce.  (sorry, the pics a little blurry)

Next up was some Baked Sweet Potato Rounds… I tossed these with a bit of EVOO, salt and pepper, placed them in a glass baking pan, and baked them at 400 for about 40 minutes.  They came out excellent – some were soft, some were crunchy… all were full of flavor.

The homemade hummus was definitely nontraditional, but was still big in flavor.  I used 1 cup (canned, rinsed and drained) garbanzo beans, 1/4 c. plain nonfat yogurt (Stonyfield), 1/2 a lemon (squeezed), 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp tahini, and some fresh black pepper to taste.  I served this up with some blanched broccoli, lettuce, and bell peppers.  I might get more excited about veggies than the average bear, but I looooved this!

Sorry guys… I forgot to take pics of the tofu.  They were a bit blackened though, so it was nothing too impressive.  I topped off the meal a few hours later with a cup of frozen grapes.  If you haven’t had these before you are totally missing out…  my favorite dessert by far!  I could eat these by the pound.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , .

Workout! Happy Columbus Day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

