Savory Baked Acorn Squash

October 9, 2008 at 9:58 am 2 comments

Dinner last night was fantastic!  I made a baked acorn squash with herbs, Parmesan spinach, some carrots dipped in peanut butter, and toasted squash seeds on the side.  Sounds like a strange mix, but all the flavors went together very nicely – and best of all, I didn’t have to go out and purchase additional supplies (except for the tin roasting pan actually).  Here are the recipes:

Savory Baked Acorn Squash: (serves 2)

  1. Cut a cleaned acorn squash lengthwise and scoop out the seeds – reserve these in a bowl.  My squash weighed about 1.75 lbs.
  2. Prick the outer skin with a fork a few times and then place the squash halves face-down in a baking pan.  Pour in about a cup of water into the pan just so the squash is laying in a thin layer of water.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for about 45-60 minutes until the skin is tender.
  4. Take the squash out of the oven, drain out the water, flip and drizzle each half with 2 tsp honey, 1/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp dried, crumbled rosemary and a sprinkle of salt.
  5. Put squash, cut side up, back into the oven and Broil 5-10 minutes until done.

**I eat the whole squash – skin and all.  It has a nice chewy texture, but it might not be for everyone – sort of like eating the skins on baked potatoes.  When I put the squash back into the oven I also threw in the squash seeds on a piece of tinfoil to toast along with the squash.  Pull these out when they are golden brown.

Parmesan Spinach:

I felt like this would’ve tasted better if I had sauteed this in a pan along with some fresh garlic first, but I had no garlic. 😐 You could also place the spinach inside the cavity of the squash along with some nutmeg, Parmesan, walnuts (optional) and salt & pepper.  I wanted to do this, but there was no nutmeg!!

  • 1 c. frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1/2 tsp pork seasoning (I only used this bc I didn’t have garlic powder – in the future I would omit bc I saw it has partially-hydrogenated cottonseed oil 👿 )
  • 1 tbsp Parmesan cheese; plus more to sprinkle on top
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Stir everything together and microwave on high for about 2 minutes.

Toasted Squash Seeds: (one of the reasons I love carving pumpkins!!)

  • Rinse of the reserved squash seeds, toss with oil and salt and broil for 5-10 minutes until golden brown

I added some carrots and a generous dollop of TJ’s crunchy salted PB for a protein boost.  Very satisfying dinner!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

New home, new routine. Chained to my desk…

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

