Vegan Coconut Ice Cream

March 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm 4 comments

Happy Daylight Savings!  I always get kind of mixed up around this time… is it really 11 or 10am?  Maybe it’s partly because I got waaay too much sleep last night!  Whenever I sleep 8+ hours I always feel more tired than I did in the first place.  My long night’s sleep made my stomach extra rumbly this morning!  I wasn’t quite in the mood for my standard morning options though, but wanted something fruit-centric so I figured “why not ice cream?” ;)

I know it doesn’t sound healthy, but I promise you that this version is fit for breakfast or dessert!  No sugar, no dairy, no artificial stuff… how could you go wrong?  You could even add a little baby spinach for some added nutrition like I did in my Earth Day Ice Cream.  There are so many different variations you could try based upon this recipe, but this morning I wanted plain ‘ol coconut.

Coconut Soft-Serve (makes 2 large portions)

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 4 drops coconut extract
  • 6 ice cubes

If you want something a little sweeter, you could add stevia or something, but I love this as is.  Just throw everything in your vita mix and blend using the temper to push all of the ice cubes into the blades until soft, but not too long or it’ll be all melty!  I decided to make it extra decadent and mixed together a little coconut milk, raw cocoa powder, agave nectar and a pinch of salt for a rich chocolate sauce.   

That’s what I call a good reason to get out of bed in the morning!  Off to yoga now… I’m on day 14 of a Bikram 30-Day Yoga Challenge right now.  30 yoga classes in 30 days, and while you can miss up to two days, you have to make up the classes by doing two doubles (ie. 3 hours of HOT yoga in one day).

I’ve tried this once before, back in September, but I had to bow out after day 19 because I had missed three days and only made up on of them.  This time I’m hoping to get through straight through without missing any days – wish me luck!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dessert, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Just like 31 Flavors! I take my coffee iced.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Grandparents' Kitchen  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    A gourmet who thinks of calories is like a tart who looks at her watch. ~James Beard

  • 2. Sophie33  |  March 14, 2011 at 4:01 am

    MMMMM,…What a lovely & tasty dessert! Yum! :)

  • 3. Cat  |  March 14, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Some gourmets just prefer to lead a more health forward lifestyle! ;) …and real ice cream could land me in the hospital, so I prefer this version.

  • 4. Ashley  |  March 14, 2011 at 10:33 am

    This looks delish. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

