Welcome back squash!

February 20, 2011 at 8:27 pm 3 comments

Tonight the butternut squash that’s been hanging out on my counter was calling out to me, so I decided to make some butternut squash fries.  Haven’t had then in sooo long and man have I missed them!!  They tasted just as I remembered them…  

Alongside my fries I made a tofurky sausage along with some saurkraut.  I have always loved sausage… I used to get this same meal back when I ate meat, except I can’t say I miss it bc the part I loved most was the ‘kraut.  I have a soft spot for the sour crunchiness of it all… definitely have a sour and not sweet tooth!  

I rounded out the meal (you know, to add some pretty colors in there) with a green salad with olives and some balsamic dressing.  Oh yah… and some pudding! 

Coffee Pudding – love it!  I used the normal agar agar base a la CCK.

  • 1.5 cups coconut milk (unsweetened)
  • 3 tsp. agar flakes (mine were actually labeled kanten flakes – same thing though)
  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch salt
  • 1 drop almond extract
  • 10-15 drops vanilla stevia (NuNaturals)
  • water to thin (as needed)

Mix together the coconut milk and agar flakes in a pot and let it sit on the stove until absorbed (without the stove on) for about 10-15 minutes.  Then bring the mixture to a boil and simmer for about 5 minutes.  Turn off the heat and stir in the nutmeg, coffee, salt, almond extract and stevia.  Then let the mixture cool a little and put in the fridge to set for a few hours before blending.  I made it this afternoon and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and then blended with my hand blender (adding a splash of water to thin).  It was perfect – tasted just like a strong cup of coffee!!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

An ode to MorningStar Savasana & Stew

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  February 20, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Mmm, delicious looking eats!

  • 2. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  February 20, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I love squash fries!! That reminds me, I need to buy some squash soon… ;)

    That coffee pudding sounds delish, too!

  • 3. Catherine  |  February 21, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I actually has squash fries again this morning for breakfast! Clearly you cannot have too much of such a good thing ;)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

