An ode to MorningStar

February 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm 5 comments

Dear MorningStar,

How have we never met until tonight?  I love you deeply.

xoxo,

Catherine

Oh dear lord friends, for whatever reason I have neglected to try the many vegan meat alternatives out there, but tonight after a particularly grueling Physique 57 class (beware the intermediate level classes!!) I made a stir fry with bell peppers, broccoli, Worcestershire sauce and some asian BBQ sauce along with MorningStar Chick’n strips.  It was like a party en mi boca.  I am so definitely making this again tomorrow night!!

For dessert I had some delicioso Vegan Strawberry Yogurt complete with some probiotics added!  I swear I haven’t been stealing all of CCK’s recipes lately…  For the yogurt I used 1/2 box of Mori Nu silken extra-firm tofu, a little over 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and a packet of Stevia.  Crack open a probiotic pill, whirl in the Vita Mix and put in the fridge! 

I made this last night and when I cracked into it tonight it tasted so so yummy.  All in all a great night!!

 

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Hey there sports fans! Welcome back squash!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine  |  February 8, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog!
    I love those Morningstar strips too- they’re so versatile. I’m a big CCK fan too- love her fudgebabies haha.

  • 2. Jo @sugarfreestevia  |  February 16, 2011 at 6:58 am

    Hi Catherine,

    I just discovered your blog and must say that I love your recipe ideas! I have to try some of them out for my site ;-)

    What brand of stevia do you use? I’ve been thinking of reviewing the best known stevia brands, but they’re hard to get a hold of over here (I live in Belgium).

  • 3. Catherine  |  February 21, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I honestly think NuNaturals makes the absolute best brands of stevia. I love their vanilla flavored stevia drops for flavoring smoothies or desserts, and I use their individual powder packets a ton for coffee, etc. They travel really well! Here’s the link to the website, hopefully they are able to deliver to you (either that or try through Amazon.com): http://www.nunaturals.com/

  • 4. Jo @sugarfreestevia  |  February 25, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Thanks Catherine, I’ll be sure to try it out. In any case, I’ll have to figure something out ;-)

    How did you discover stevia? It’s still relatively new over here but I heard about it on the local news just last year. Been using pure steviosides ever since but it’s too bitter for my taste and we don’t have real brands over here just yet… But we’ll catch up with the US soon enough! :-p

  • 5. Catherine  |  March 12, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    My mom actually grows stevia in our garden and has always been into super healthy foods my entire life. We were an anti-processed food & refined sugar family, so it’s my fav substitution. Real sugar gives me headaches and makes me feel gross!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

