Hey there sports fans!

February 7, 2011 at 9:54 pm 3 comments

So while I did watch the Super Bowl yesterday with the fiance I can’t say we did it in a uh traditional sort of way.  Football, veggies, wine… who says you need beer and wings to enjoy the game anyway?  I made a simple balsamic dip for the veggies in my vita-mix that was a-maze (if I do say so myself), and served some hummus and olives alongside everything.

Basic Balsamic Dip

  • 4 cloves roasted garlic
  • approx 1/3 c. balsamic vinegar (I kinda didn’t measure)
  • approx 1/4 c. olive oil (or as much as desired)
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp Herbs de Provance
  • 1 wedge lemon; squeezed
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • salt & pepper to taste

Just give it all a whirl in the vita-mix and adjust the seasonings as you see fit!

I also made some roasted cauliflower nuggets baked at 425 for about 20 minutes thanks to the inspiration of Ms. CCK – sprinkled with a little Spike seasoning and dipped in BBQ sauce that was out of this world.  I just love Spike seasoning…

Then I helped the fiance make his very own homemade chicken nuggets that rival the elusive McD’s McNuggets.  For serious people.  I didn’t partake as I choose not to eat meat, but this was a recipe I had made up a few years ago and since I don’t feel it’s fair to impose my beliefs on others, I had no problem explaining the recipe to him so that he could enjoy.  Don’t crucify me for this… I choose not to buy or eat it, but he eats chicken, so I wasn’t going so sit with my arms folded not giving him a recipe just for that fact.  Recipe below…

Cat McNuggets (serves 2-4 as an appetizer)

Nuggets before frying...

  • 2 boneless chicken breasts, cut into large chunks
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp minced, dried onion
  • 1/8 tsp died oregano
  • 1 c. panko (plus more as needed)
  • olive oil for frying
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. In a bowl mix the chicken, garlic, onion, oregano, salt and pepper to distribute all the seasonings.
  2. Throw the chicken mixture into a food processor and pulse until it begins to form into a ball.  There should still be small chunks visible, you don’t want it to become a paste.
  3. Using about a tablespoon of the chicken mixture, roll into balls and then press into oval shaped nuggets no more than 1/2″ thick.
  4. Drop the nuggets into the panko one by one, coating completely.
  5. Heat a pan with a thin layer of olive oil and fry until golden on each side and then remove and drain on a paper towel.  You could also bake these to make them a little healthier if you choose.
  6. Let cool so you don’t burn your finger and enjoy!

    Take that McNuggets!

Although I don’t eat this, I wanted to include the recipe because I think it’s important to save recipes and since I know the fiance will make these again in the future, I wanted to put it down in writing for him.  The proud chef w/his creation (he ate all of them!): 

Serious Question: If you are a vegan/vegetarian, are there any foods you still miss? I ask this, because while I choose not to eat meat/dairy/eggs, occasionally I miss the ease of being able to order anything off a menu in a restaurant and get frustrated because while I love the food that I eat, sometimes it just feels difficult.  Also, I am very allergic to dairy, so part of me is annoyed that even though I am happy not to eat it for ethical reasons, I know that even if I wanted to I just plain can’t.  Sorry – enough ranting for now!  Have a good night all!  :)

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , , .

Physique-d out An ode to MorningStar

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolate-covered katie  |  February 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I miss soft-serve ice cream, more for the fun swirliness than the actual taste!

  • 2. Autumn Tao  |  February 8, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I miss nothing. Even if I do think longingly about a food for a hot second, I quickly remember the nastiness that is required to create said product. It is so unappealing!! I don’t even want to tell you what I associate with dairy these days! Vegan strong, all day long.

  • 3. Catherine  |  February 8, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Yah I think I miss more the memory of foods than the taste if that makes sense… remembering where it comes from certainly helps keep me on track though!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

