The Candle at the end of the tunnel

June 4, 2010 at 10:32 am 2 comments

After putting off my swim on Wednesday to go running instead I finally decided to hit the pool last night.  I think it’s important to switch it up every so often to reduce the pounding on my joints and the pool is the perfect thing for that.  I was still a little sore in my right arm and back from golfing, but I knew that once I got going things would loosen up.  Clearly it didn’t prove to be much of a hindrance because I ended up breaking my personal record for lap swimming.  I finished a very tiring 48 laps, or 1.5 miles!!  I really wanted to hit the 1.5 mile mark so I made a deal with myself that I could order dinner from my fav vegan eatery Candle Café if I hit the 1.5 mile mark.  If that’s not motivation, I don’t know what is!

48 laps later I was happily walking the 20+ blocks home, stopping at Candle Café to pick up dinner.  I love when the weather turns nice and I can avoid the subways and just walk everywhere!  I got my favorite dish, the Ginger Miso Stir-Fry that has popped up on the blog before.

Check out those hearty chunks of tofu and delectable veggies… heaven.  It’s all served over brown rice and is covered with just the right amount of a Ginger Miso dressing that I really need to figure out the recipe for!!

Since my workout was pretty grueling I knew the dish alone wouldn’t fill me up so I whipped up some Creamy Broccoli Soup – dairy-free of course!  I don’t normally measure things out, but here goes:

Creamy Broccoli Soup (makes 1 hearty serving, easily doubled though!)

  • 2 c. Water
  • 1 ½ – 2 c. chopped broccoli, stalk included
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp Better than Bullion – Veggie flavor (optional, but adds a nice flavor)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp raw macadamia nuts
  • Dash of Spike Seasoning (optional)
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

First I brought the water to a boil in a small saucepan and then threw in the broccoli and garlic so that the water just covered all the veggies.  I let this simmer for about 1-2 minutes (I like to keep the color & flavor of the broccoli pronounced) and then poured it into the Vita-Mix along with the nuts and seasoning.  Blend on high for a few minutes until the nuts and broccoli have creamed together nicely, adding water to thin as desired.

I know it’s about 80 degrees out, but my a/c makes my apartment freezing, so it always seems like a good time for soup!

Do you guys ever get food cravings that go against the normal fare of the season – ice cream in winter / soup in summer?

Entry filed under: Dinner, Fitness, Recipes, Side Dishes. Tags: , .

National Running Day! It’s gettin hot in here (so hot!)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tes  |  June 4, 2010 at 11:53 am

    The soup looks healthy and yummy. What should I use instead of bullion, can I use homemade vegetable stock instead?

  • 2. Catherine  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Absolutely! Just sub in the stock for the water and skip over the bullion altogether.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

