Slaw & salad

May 23, 2010 at 8:14 pm Leave a comment

I love and hate Sundays in a way… I mean, I love that it’s the weekend, but there’s something kind of melancholy about Sundays.  The work week looms ahead, the fridge is in need of refilling and everything seems so lazy and quiet, like everyone around me is winding down.  Sorry, that sounded kind of depressing, just a case of the Sunday night blues I suppose.

Tonight my appetite was just non-existent for some reason.  I had a super heavy lunch from Candle Cafe today that tasted amazing, but was just so dense.  It was a vegan taco salad with strips of seitan, corn, beans, tofu sour cream and some other delishiousness over greens and tortilla chips and I think my stomach just never quite recovered from it.  Since I didn’t want anything heavy I decided to make use of the fresh ingredients I picked up at the Union Square Farmer’s Market yesterday and made a huge salad.  

In the mix was red & green lettuce, a plum tomato, half a cucumber, a couple radishes and green olives.  

I topped everything off with a dressing made out of dijon mustard, olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt & pepper.  I don’t know if you can even tell in the picture, but this was enormous!!  It was still light though, which is what I was going for.

On the side I made some Dairy-free Coleslaw.  I didn’t follow a recipe and instead just went off what sounded good.  In order to get the creaminess that usually comes from mayo I made my own cashew milk using very little water in the Vita-Mix to make it thick and creamy.  I whisked in some raw honey for sweetness and voila!  I’d say I used about 1/2 c. cashews and 3/4 cup water, and then ended up pouring in half of the resulting cream.  I added in approx 2 tbsp honey as well.  

For the slaw itself I shredded 4 medium carrots and 1/4 of a napa cabbage in my food processor with the grater accessory on.  Then I chopped up 1/2 a large Granny Smith apple and threw in about 1/2 cup raisins.  Mix everything together and dig in!  You could get creative and add some minced parsley or walnuts as well, but I wanted to keep it light and simple.  Ok bloggies, I’m off to watch the Yank – Mets game… let’s go Yankees!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, Side Dishes, thoughts. Tags: .

A different kind of commute Another use for chickpeas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

