Back on track

May 16, 2010 at 5:14 pm Leave a comment

So I am finally done with my cleanse and happy to say it served it’s purpose in my opinion and I feel great.  Since I’m no longer marathon training I have been kind of struggling with the transition back to normal meals and snacks and the cleanse really helped me “press reset” if you will.  I was not doing this to lose weight as I am happy with my body as it is, but I did want to get back in touch with listening to my hunger.  You see, with all those extra miles I was logging I felt like I was eating for two!  I needed to make sure I was well fueled before and after my runs, but the problem was, once the running cut bak, the eating did not  :oops:  The cleanse does give your digestive system a rest, but it also is very helpful in making you become more in tune with your body and hunger levels.  For me it helps get back on track and stops those annoying sugar cravings – I swear once I have sugar or junk, it’s the only thing I can think about eating for days afterwards, and although I normally don’t cave into those feelings because I know it’s a vicious cycle and makes me feel worse, it’s just plain annoying.  Especially when on a normal day I’d take savory over sweet every time!

Anyway, the BluePrint Cleanse advises you stick to fruit only for the first day, but I know my body and I knew I couldn’t do that… the real key I think is just to slowly introduce solid foods that are easier to digest so as not to shock the system.  Even if you’re not vegan, I’d say it’s a good idea to stick to a vegan diet the first few days (although I’m not a Dr. – just going off what works for me).  Last night I had some veggies and wine even though I was technically ending the cleanse and had no problems so I figured it was fine to move away from just fruit today.  The morning started off with a glorious 7 mile run through Central Park followed by some fresh juice (green apple, pear, celery and carrot), and a monstrous green smoothie.  Mmm looks like toxic waste;)  

I don’t know what it is about these, but I actually like the subtle flavor the spinach gives.  Plus, they’re the most effective post-run drinks I’ve ever made… instant, easy to digest food for your muscles which reduces soreness and speeds up muscle recovery.  This particular mix had: Banana, maca powder, 1 tsp instant coffee granules, a few sprigs fresh mint, Vegan protein powder, vanilla extract, chia seeds, 1.5 cups water and about 6 ice cubes.  Yummers!!

Today was gorgeous out so I took full advantage and did a whole lot of walking around.  There was a quick stop to Slice for a bite of deelish vegan pizza (2nd Ave between 73rd & 74th St – check it out) and then there were some various nibbles throughout the day…   Hummus = love.

Well I’m going to go read for a bit… I just started Ultramarathon Man by Dean Karnazes and I am totally engrossed!  Enjoy your evening lovies!!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Snacks/ Appetizers, thoughts. Tags: , , , .

Day 1 – check. Monster greens!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

