No more training plan!

May 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm 4 comments

I have a confession… I love training for races, but I am LOVING not having anything in the near future to get ready for.  It means freedom in my workouts.  No mileage I have to hit, no specific workout or rest days.  I felt like swimming today and so I swam; and when I mean I swam I mean I knocked out 40 laps without stopping.  Heck yes.  A tough workout calls for a substantial dinner and I knew just the thing – dal!  

I made my regular dal recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian subbing in real cardamom pods in place of powdered, adding in fresh pea, extra tomatoes and adding in some turmeric and it was heaven.  

Sorry I’ve been so MIA recently guys… its just been crazy over here recently!  I promise I’ll be more consistent going forward :)  Good night for now chickadees… I’m off to watch my beloved Yanks!

Food for Thought: When training for races do you get too caught up in keeping up with your training plans to truly enjoy your workouts??

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Falafels in a box! Inclines & Indian Food

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NYCRunnerGirl  |  May 5, 2010 at 6:53 am

    I still enjoy my workouts, but if I miss one I feel incredibly guilty. When I’m not training for anything I feel better about skipping a workout here or there.

    The dal looks amazing, I’m going to try that recipe!

  • 2. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin  |  May 5, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Oh, I’m so jealous that you don’t have a training plan to follow! I’m really ready to be DONE training for my marathon, and just exercise for fun again! I miss being able to run whenever I want, for as long as I want.

    Now that I’m trying to heal an injury, my training plan has gone out the window! I have an “idea” of what I should be doing, but it’s pretty much just listening to my body and seeing what I actually CAN do at this point… all I can say, is this marathon is going to be interesting! *yikes!*

  • 3. Catherine  |  May 7, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    NYCRunnerGirl That’s sorta why I like having a race in the future sometimes… I can definitely get lazy if there’s nothing on the horizon.

    Megan I know exactly how you feel, but when it’s over you’ll be so happy for all of your hard work. It’s definitely better to only do as much as you can handle right now though so that you don’t injure yourself so much that you have to drop out!

  • 4. Jennifer  |  May 10, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Swimming 40 laps is awesome! My friend and I want to do a triathlon in October and swimming is our main concern. It takes more energy than you think.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

