26.2 miles

April 21, 2010 at 11:34 am 11 comments

I did it!!  I finished the Boston Marathon on Monday in 3 hrs 37 min!!!  That race was hands down the most incredible experience of my life – the sheer difficulty with all the hills, the intensity of the crowd that pushed me forward – it was so unforgettable.  I actually re-qualified for Boston 2011 by running as well!  Here’s the race recap:  

Monday morning I was terrified… the buses were picking up the first wave runners (me) between 6-6:45 to get to the start, even though the race wouldnt begin until 10am.  This meant that the fiance couldn’t come with me and I’d have the deal with my nerves by myself – gulp!  

Thankfully the line to get on the bus lasted almost an hour so I had time to calm down and breathe before getting on the bus.  Once on the bus I met the NICEST man ever who was running his 6th Boston Marathon and calmed my nerves.  He even walked me to the port-a-John’s, then to drop off my bag at the baggage area, and then sent me off to the start since he was in the 2nd wave.  Runners are such nice people!! Mile 7 I started mentally talking myself down for some reason, but then I saw these guys plugging along and had renewed energy and resolve to soldier on (no pun intended)!  

The downhill portion worried me because I was afraid of going too fast, so the first 7 miles I made sure I was on pace to run a 3:50 marathon – slower than normal, but I wasn’t looking for a good time.  Then came the hills… oh man were they never ending!  Basically miles 16-21 were hellish.  Heartbreak Hill my rear-end – more like Heartbreaking HILLS.  

Finally the end was in sight!  I saw my sis and her husband and stopped for a quick hug and then continued on to the finish!  A little furry man was waiting to congratulate me at the end…

My biggest supporter :)  Thanks babe!

We walked back to the hotel for a quick beer before the loooong trip home.

I didn’t get back to my apt until 9pm!  Unfortunately for me, this meant I didn’t re-fuel properly and I am currently writing this from my couch as I have been sidelined and working from home the past two days.  Thankfully my boss is wonderful and understands.

My final thoughts??  I would definitely do this again.  I’m taking some time off running for a week and racing for a little while after that, but honestly, I’d love to run Boston again.  It was just so amazing and helped me get over my fear of races (even though it was my second).  Having to be by myself at the start and not see anyone until mile 25 made me realize I do have the strength to do this and I am a capable and incredible person.  Sometimes confidence can be found in the strangest places. :)

Entry filed under: Fitness, thoughts. Tags: , .

Naner ice cream!! Heal the world (and my legs!)

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NYCRunnerGirl  |  April 21, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Great job, and awesome recap! It’s amazing what we can do when we really put our minds to it, isn’t it?

  • 2. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  April 21, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Congrats on the race! I’m totally TERRIFIED of my marathon coming up in June, so it’s nice to see that you really enjoyed yourself!

  • 3. Bobbi  |  April 21, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    AWESOME!!! You rocked it!!! I can’t belve how fast you ran it!!! YOU ARE AMAZING!

  • 4. Amelia  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Great job!!! I love your conclusion about gaining confidence from strange places. So very true.

  • 5. Jess  |  April 22, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Congrats! You look great!

  • 6. Catherine  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks for the kind words everyone! The race was so much fun!!

  • 7. glidingcalm  |  April 24, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    wowie!! amazing job!!!

  • 8. Jennifer  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Great job! That is so awesome that you completed the Boston marathon. Your run just gave me the inspiration to keep going towards running a half marathon. I got up to doing 10 miles fine, then I messed up my knee and have had to slow my running distances down a bit. But I know I can do it. So thanks for your encouraging post!

  • 9. Catherine  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Jennifer: Keep on working towards your goal, but make sure not to overdo it! To train for the marathon I actually only ran 3 days a week and then swam laps and went to spin classes on some of my off days. The key is just to strengthen your muscles and your cardiovascular system – no need to go crazy on the mileage. Good luck!

  • 10. Pure2raw twins  |  April 29, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Congrats on your race! What an amazing accomplishment!

  • 11. Jennifer  |  April 29, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Thank you for the great advice Catherine!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

