Naner ice cream!!

April 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm 6 comments

Ice cream anyone?  Well, not exactly – it’s Banana Soft-Serve!!  I got this recipe from the lovely Gena of Choosing Raw and am in love my friends.  Simply throw some frozen bananas in your food processor (and if you’re like me and love spice, add a big dash of cinnamon) and blend until the consistency of ice cream!!  

Drizzled with some agave nectar mixed with raw cocoa powder.  

On to the serious stuff… This morning I read a really inspiring post on http://ohsheglows.com/s blog concerning negative comments from others, which you guys should definitely read if you haven’t already: Click Here!

A part of life is learning to deal with the negative.  Negative thoughts are bad, but at least you have the power to change them, negative comments from others, well… you don’t have much control there.  What you can control though is how you let it affect you.  Remember, most negative comments are a reflection of that person’s insecurities, not due to a problem with you.

I have gotten tons of negative comments related to not eating meat, running marathons, not drinking a ton… you name it.  I admit these comments can be tough when I’m already having a bad day, but I always do my best to follow them up with a positive thought about myself in my head.  Arguing with people who want to put you down will get you nowhere.  People who think you’re a freak for not eating meat, will continue to think so no matter what you say until they decide to open their minds.  One of my favorite quotes from “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer addresses this – “It’s always possible to wake someone from sleep, but no amount of noise will wake someone who is pretending to be asleep.” So true.

So lovies, do what makes you happy and keep your head high.  On Monday I will set out to tackle the Boston Marathon.  I will do this knowing that there are people out there who don’t understand what I’m doing, who have told me it will hurt me, kill me, render me unable to have children (umm yeah), etc.  I will with those people’s negative comments pushing me from behind like a gentle wind helping me move forward, and I will not stop there.  I will continue to race in the future.  I will continue to make health-conscious food choices in the future. I will continue to silently prove the naysayers wrong.  I don’t need a soapbox to change minds, I just need to be kind and show others by example that there is more than one way to live your life and be happy (and healthy).

“You must be the change you want to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Entry filed under: Dessert, Recipes, thoughts. Tags: .

Indian Food… Thursday? 26.2 miles

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. glidingcalm  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    luck with the maraaaaaathon goals!! go girl go !!!

    and i still havent made nana soft serve! can u believe?! someday!!

    HAPPY WEEKEND BEAUTIFUL!

  • 2. NYCRunnerGirl  |  April 17, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Really interesting post. My mom always used to remind me that you can only control your own actions. Sometimes it is hard to brush off comments that others make, but you have to do what makes you happy!

  • 3. Brooke  |  April 17, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    I had read Oh She Glows post also. It is very inspiring and that is why I keep reading blogs. Just wanted to say good luck with the Marathon. It is awesome that you are doing it. I hope to just be able to run a 5k someday (I am so not a runner).

  • 4. Jennifer  |  April 18, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I LOVE bananas and I have never made it into a soft serve. What a great idea! As far as negative comments go, I’ve seen a few on other people’s sights and it’s like what I said in my negativity: are you receiving it? post. We have the choice to receive it or not. People who post comments against food and health bloggers are most of the time people who are guilty themselves of poor lifestyle choices. Thus, rather than facing the truth that they need to change themselves, they would rather be mean to someone that has something that they know they are lacking.

  • 5. Jess  |  April 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Hope the race went well today!

  • 6. Catherine  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I completely agree with you. It’s sometimes hard not to get angry at people like that, but I really feel bad for people who have that much anger and insecurity inside themselves.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

