Sushi time!

April 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm 4 comments

Today is one of those days that makes me absolutely love living in NYC.  I went for a run this morning and when I got to Central Park there was a big race going on, so I ended up running alongside hundreds of people, which kind of made my run more fun for me.  It’s not quite hot out yet, but warm enough to run in t-shirts… perfect weather in my opinion.

After my run I was in the mood for something fresh tasting… I don’t know what it is about warmer, sunny weather but it makes me crave fresh and colorful foods.  I had an avocado laying about so I decided to try my hand at sushi!  

Asian-Fusion Avocado Puree

  • 3/4 avocado, scooped out
  • 1/2 tsp wasabi powder
  • 1/4 c. fresh cilantro
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 c. water
  • salt to taste

I sliced up a quarter of an avocado and then used the remainder for my Asian-Fusion Avocado Puree… a little South American, a little Japanese… it turned out quite good!  I used my avocado puree as the base layer on my Nori sheets, then some julienned carrots & daikon radish, topped with the fresh sliced avocado.  

I thinned out the leftover avocado puree and used it as a dipping sauce for my sushi rolls.  I ended up having quite a bit left over, so I had some tortilla chips help me out with the rest. ;)  This was a really great, filling lunch and took no time at all to make!  I think the part that took the longest was the puree just because I was adjusting seasonings and I went along.  Enjoy your Sunday everyone!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Lunch, Recipes. Tags: , .

Good ol’ Italian! Indian Food… Thursday?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  April 11, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Man I would love to go for a run in Central park. I have never been to NY and me and my husband plan to go sometime in the next year or so. Let’s go for a run together! :D

  • 2. Mo@MommyRD  |  April 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    That looks so good. I love making homemade “sushi.” I can’t wait to try your avocado wasabi dipping sauce!

  • 3. Catherine  |  April 13, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Jennifer: I’d love to go running with you if you ever come to NYC!!

  • 4. RunToFinish  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Oh thanks for this fun idea! I could totally whip some of that up next week and use it even on a sandwich

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

