Holy Guacamole!

April 5, 2010 at 8:52 pm 7 comments

What’s the easiest vegan meal loved by carnivores and herbivores alike?  Guacamole of course!!  

I was looking for a quick, filling, yet tasty meal and after a quick scan of the kitchen found two avocados just begging to be used.  I used the juice of one lime, 1 red bell pepper (diced), 2 small tomatoes (diced), 1/4 onion, a few sprigs of cilantro, and 2 cloves garlic (mased into a paste).  Flavor with salt & pepper and voila!  

Spread atop an Ezekiel sprouted grain wrap along with some shredded green leaf lettuce & salsa.  And a side of vegan baked beans.  Random; yes.  Delicious; absolutely!

So you know how I mentioned I was running with coconut water instead of water on Saturday?  Well I completed a full 19 miles and felt awesome the whole way!  I blame the coconut water :)  I’m definitely going to be bringing some in a disposable squirt bottle for the marathon (fresh of course).  It was easy on my tummy, gave me energy and definitely quenched my thirst!!  I encourage you guys to try it – it’s seriously amazing!  Sorry for the short post guys… bball’s on!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Ch-ch-ch-Chia! Good ol’ Italian!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yasmin  |  April 6, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I’ve been craving avocados like crazy this week. This is a fantastic recipe! And I adore coconut water. What brand do you use?

  • 2. Jess  |  April 6, 2010 at 10:04 am

    How funny – you mention my two hangover cures in the same article: Avocados and ONE Coconut Water! I love the new flavored coconut water from ONE. They’re on sale right now too, which is always great as coconut water, being a “hot” new drink, seems to be high in price.

  • 3. Catherine  |  April 6, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Yasmin: I actually had a few young Thai coconuts in my fridge that I was using for an Easter recipe and I used the water straight from the coconut – very fresh and yummy! (and only $2 at my health food store and you get about tons of water plus the meat!)

  • 4. Jess  |  April 6, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Yum I love guac! I’ve never had the Ezekiel wraps, but they make a nice corn tortilla.

  • 5. lifewithnature  |  April 7, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Guacamole…Miam! I think I could live on that stuff!

  • 6. Kris | iheartwellness.com  |  April 7, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Yeaaa I love guac!! thanks for this simple yet tasty looking recipe!!

    I could eat a whole bowl of guac to myself I think right now!

    XXOO

  • 7. Megan  |  April 16, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    mmm I love guac! And yeah the workout chart is awesome. It helps on those days when the last thing I want to do is exercise!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

