Baby I’m back!

January 20, 2010 at 10:19 am 3 comments

Man oh man has it been a long time since I wrote anything on this blog.  I originally stopped blogging because it has become too time consuming and there was too much going on in my life outside the blogosphere.  However, with the new year I wanted to make some new changes.  Therefore I’m bringing back the blog!  I won’t be posting all of my meals, just the ones worth mentioning. :)   I want this to be more of a chronical of my adventures in the kitchen (and on the pavement) than a daily log of my life.

In the next few months the training for the Boston marathon is going to intensify, so my goal is to make super nutritious, energy packed meals.  I sustained a partially torn patellar tendon as a result of my first marathon in Hartford, CT, so I’d reeeally like to focus on taking care of myself this time!  Not that a 3:32:24 total time is anything to sneer at, but I bet I could do a little better if I wasn’t in so much pain throughout all the training, etc!

Anywho… onto the goods!!  I started off with some bread and hummus…  

Last night I cooked up some Seitan Sausages w/ saurkraut with a side of butternut squash fries.  Just look at that steam rising… :)

Seitan Sausages: (makes 6 sausages)

  • 1/2 cup mashed kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, very finely minced
  • 1 1/4 cups vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fennel seed, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  1. In a food processor puree all of the ingredients until the dough comes together.
  2. Have ready 6 sheets of tin foil.
  3. Divide dough into 6 even parts.
  4. Take one of the mounds of dough and roll between your hands to form a long, slender log (like a hotdog).
  5. Wrap dough in tin foil, like a tootsie roll. Don’t worry too much about shaping it, it will snap into shape while it’s steaming because this recipe is awesome.
  6. Place wrapped sausages in steamer and steam for 40 minutes.

This recipe is seriously amazing (even if they do look a little odd)!  Thank you Post punk kitchen and CCV for turning me onto these!!!  I put half of these into the freezer for some good eatin’ down the road. ;)

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

BSI Update Pureed Perfection

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yasmin  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Well, welcome back stranger ;)

  • 2. carolinebee  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    OMG welllcooomeee back girl!!!!! I seriously thought u fell off the planet and I was SO SO SOO happy to see ur comment on my blog!!! Can’t wait to catch up, I just recently made the move to Boston from my home in LA, so we have got to meet up when u run the marathon :D

  • 3. catms916  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    We absolutely have to meet up!! Closer to the day I’ll email you with my cell phone, etc. The fiance will be up there cheering me on so he’ll have all my stuff so we can meet up. Psyched to meet you in person!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

