It’s the weekend!!

November 15, 2008 at 7:38 pm 10 comments

Last night was soo much fun!  Thankfully the rain held off for me though… trekking through the rain at night is definitely not on the top of my fun things to do list.  Let me back up for a second though – before I went out I had a delicious appleimg_1865 while the bf and I cooked up a quick dinner of vegetable-rice noodles topped with Classico pasta sauce (beefed up with lots of spices) and peas & carrots, alongside a squash concoction I am calling Squash del Sud.img_1860

For the squash I used a box of frozen, cooked winter squash.  It comes pre-pureed so really all you have to do is thaw it out in a saucepan or the microwave.  I wanted a South American inspired dish, so I added about 1/2 cup of canned black beans, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 chili powder, a pinch of cayenne pepper and some salt and pepper.  The mix of spices might sound a little odd, and I must admit that I was slightly hesitant at first, but it seriously tasted awesome!  It was the perfect blend of savory-spiciness with the sweetness of the cinnamon and squash.  I will definitely be making this again!!img_1858

After dinner I headed down to Puck Fair on Lafayette… right off the Bleeker Street subway stop.  I’d been there once before so I was really excited to go.  Admittedly it’s more of a laid-back older crowd – it was actually filmed in one of the episodes of Gossip Girl when Dan Humphrey goes to meet the author that he was working for during the summer – but I wasn’t in the mood for dance music and the typical UES bar.

I was also pretty excited that they had Ginger Beer – the ingredient to my two favorite mixed drinks (ok, other than dirty martinis), Dark & Stormies and Moscow Mules.  Oh. My. Gosh… yum!  I had a few drinks and really enjoyed myself, but when I came back I was famished!!  img_1861Nothing like a big pot of popcorn and about a gallon of water after a fun night out!!  ;)

Rain, rain, go away…

I woke up this morning to the sound of some serious rain coming down… oh well, so much for walking around.  I made a big bowl of my new favorite thing… Autumn Squash Oats!  I used the regular recipe for Banana Oatymeal, but made a few changes.  Here’s the mix:img_1862

  • 1/3 c. rolled oats
  • 1/3 c. vanilla rice milk
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/2 medium banana, sliced paper thin
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch salt
  • pinch powdered ginger
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  • 1/3 c. winter squash puree

Start by combining 1/3 cup rolled oats, water, and rice milk in a saucepan over medium heat. Slice a banana into VERY thin pieces, leaving just a few bigger chunks. As the oatmeal heats, stir vigorously at times to “whip” the banana into the oats. The oats will take 5-7 minutes on medium heat to fully absorb the liquid.  Then add all the spices and squash and serve with a spoonful of Peanut Butter!!img_1864

After lots of lounging and TV watching the rain magically stopped and it actually started looking nice outside!  I guess I got my wish to go for a walk answered!!  :D


Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

Les Halles Weekend Recap to come…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 15, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Oh my, Puck Fair sounds fun!! Love the Gossip Girl connection. Glad you enjoyed it.

    LOVE the colors of your meals!!! So “autumn-y,” indeed :-D

    Blah, it’s pouring like CRAZY here, and thundering :-( Enjoy your sunny weather and walk for me!!

  • 2. ksgoodeats  |  November 15, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Your oats look heavenly :) Plus tri-colored pasta is way better than plain – so much more fun!

  • 3. Wholesome Foodie  |  November 15, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    oooooh your oatmeal and popcorn look DELICIOUS! And Puck Fair sounds like the kind of place I’d like to go to :)

  • 4. Sagan  |  November 15, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Cool idea for the squash oats! Will have to try it.

  • 5. bobbi  |  November 15, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    If ever in NYC again I am visiting you, you seem to know all the hot spots:) I am going to have to try those oats, mmmm!

  • 6. Greg Warwick  |  November 16, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Did you have Fentimans Ginger Beer? We’re just expanding distribution of it here in the US. I’m biased because I’m overseeing Fentimans on the other side of the pond. The 7-days of fermentation of the Ginger and Brewing with other botanicals make all the difference in the aroma and flavour of these lovelies. Looking forward to a Dark & Stormy this evening.
    Cheers!

  • 7. Maggie  |  November 16, 2008 at 4:17 am

    moscow mules are awesome :D ginger beer is so fun.

  • 8. Erica  |  November 16, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Squash oats? This sounds wonderful! I also love the popcorn on the stove- I haven’t done that in forever! Have a good night!!

  • 9. catms916  |  November 17, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Bobbi Definitely let me know if you’re ever in the area – I’d love to show you all my favorite places! :)

    Greg Warwick I’ve never heard of or tried Fentimans Ginger Beer. I checked out the website though and all of the favor combos look amazing!! I live in New York City – do you sell your product here? I’d love to try it!

  • 10. Sharon  |  November 17, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    My mom tried popping popcorn on the stove, and it turned out fabulous! But I’m too lazy to do it! Hahah!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

